Some US - UK Translations Required - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2008, 02:04 PM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

some US - UK translations required

Hi All

I am hoping someone can help, firstly i have very little electrical knowledge so please bare with me.

my boss (US based) has asked me to investigate if this item will work in my UK office -

the building i have has 3 phase power and indicates 500v with 60amps.

I can see from the requirements that it requires 220v or 400v to operate (i have 500v so i asume thats fine) but i dont understand what 'Hz' is? is this the same as we refer to as Amps in the UK?

Your input apreciated, i will be contacting my electrician in the morning to confirm but thought you guys might be able to give some idea.



BikerBudgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 05:28 PM   #2
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000

Originally Posted by BikerBudgie View Post
i dont understand what 'Hz' is?

The "units" of speed could be miles/hour or feet/second or furlongs per fortnight. The "units" of Hz is "per second ["/sec"]."

60 Hz is some thing that happens 60 times per second. In this case what is happening 60 times per second is that the voltage goes from zero to a positive value and then back to zero and then to a negative value and then back to zero.

And at 60 Hz the cycle is completed in 1/60 = 16.7 milliseconds = 0.0167 seconds.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-29-2008 at 07:30 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 01:31 PM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,674
Rewards Points: 8

The crucible will work on 50 or 60 Hz. Find out what the nominal voltage is for your area. I think you will be just fine. I would verify with the manufacturer and your power company before you write that PO.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressor cfm rating required for framing nailer tmeehan Tools 8 05-01-2009 11:17 AM
is a pre-slope required for slab shower memjeff Plumbing 2 01-16-2009 06:57 PM
What is required to eliminate electric from office wall? flatlander745 Electrical 5 05-31-2008 10:41 PM
How to determine DC amperage required for small device? quexal Electrical 3 05-11-2008 01:04 PM
Stapling required for fished new wires? cheapohubby Electrical 1 04-13-2008 09:54 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1