Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-25-2011, 03:12 PM   #1

Share |

Some questions on a new service

I’m having electric brought onto my property and I would like some advice and ideas. The more I think about it the more questions I have so I will spread them out in different posts. Just for reference, I’m an electrical engineer so I know electricity but not the electrical trade. I did wire my new construction home from the ground up in 1982 on a homeowners permit so I need to brush up on code changes. I also have been searching hardware and I’m getting familiar with what is out there for my needs.

A pole barn is the only structure on the property and the POCO designed a 2 meter, 2 transformer setup for the barn and future house but I’m thinking of changing that to a distribution pedestal (farm pole) with just 1 pad mount transformer as I can place it in the middle and have 150’ runs to barn and future house. I hate doing things twice so some of my questions relate to the possibility of future runs and buildings. Everything is underground BTW.

Anyway, going with the original design with a meter socket attached to the side of the pole barn, what is the best way to route the service cable into the pole barn from the meter socket? It’s a standard metal sided non-insulated barn with a gravel floor.