Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 08:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Some questions about generators


Just made it through Sandy with a Home Depot Husky HU5000 generator:

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/homelit...specifications

jury rigged into the system (AKA backfeed).

Some questions to do it right:

the unit has 4 120V 20amp & 1 120/240V 20 amp twist connectors. There's 2 circuit breakers next to those 3 connectors. Looking in the operator manual, I can't see what the 2 breakers connect to - 1 each to the standard 120v pairs? and both go to the twist connector?

And at 120V, the unit puts out about 40 amps. how do you get all 40 amps out? by using the twist lock which has 3 connectors - 120, ground and 120?

Then to go 75' from the garage to the electric panel at the other side of the house, what gauge wire do I need for no (minimal) voltage drop?

And for a transfer switch / box... do you MOVE the breakers for the circuits you want into the transfer box? What if you want to be able to run most everything in the house (not at the same time)? You can't move the entire panel into the transfer box : )

I know we had the fridge on the generator, we did laundry, used microwave, hair dryer, and lights. Not all at the same time, but all these things were on seperate circuits in the breaker panel. What do I need to be able to have that ability to run everything (except air conditioning system) from the generator?

Thanks!

babaganoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Some questions about generators


Look up "interlock." Your existing panel manufacturer may offer one. You can then use any circuit in your house.

You would use only the 240 volt 20 amp outlet (4 pin) to connect to the house.

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Some questions about generators


and the guage of the wire for a 75' run?
babaganoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Some questions about generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by babaganoosh View Post
and the guage of the wire for a 75' run?
Altho you only need #12 and a 20A Inlet, I would recommend running the standard #10 and install a 30A Inlet. Then you buy a standard 30A generator cord and install a 20A plug on the end.

By doing it this way, you are all set if you ever want to upgrade to a more common 30A generator. Most generators in that range have 30A receptacles, I'm a little surprised that your's doesn't.
Gensetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

Some questions about generators


Your going to need one of these.
http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...0874_200220874
# 10 would be more then enough.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Some questions about generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Your going to need one of these.
http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...0874_200220874
# 10 would be more then enough.
If he uses that, he only needs #12.
Gensetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:07 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Some questions about generators


The 40 amps of 120 volt power comes out as two 20 amp allotments. The generator is wired up as if it is supplying 240 volts at 20 amps but using a 120/240 volt circuit (with neutral). This fits in perfectly with almost all panels. (Remember that, if you are drawing, say, just 10 amps from one allotment, then you may not draw 30 amps from the other allotment; each allotment is limited to 20.)

The generator may not be connected to the home electrical system unless there is a mechanism to physically prevent having both the generator feed and the utility feed connected at the same time. It is common to use an interlock slider which forces one of the respective breaker sets to be off, but the interlock must be suitable for use with that brand of panel.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Home Carpentry questions immeraufdemhund Carpentry 3 11-19-2010 06:52 AM
Generator connection questions mn1247 Electrical 6 10-17-2010 08:28 AM
Newbie with questions about a 4 ton rheem nissan4x4 HVAC 4 05-24-2010 11:53 PM
A few roof questions before I begin... chrisexv6 Roofing/Siding 6 05-02-2010 06:16 AM
Aluminum-wired house, questions LMH Electrical 2 05-24-2009 03:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.