Solution For Service On A Lake Dock - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2009, 09:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Solution for service on a lake dock


I need to run service for receptacle to my dock on the lake. the dck is taken odd the water for the winter, so I would like to be able to disconnect without messing with a junction box. I have a receptacle 6-8 feet from the dock with GFCI upstream. I was thinking about running a liquid tight conduit properly strapped with heavy nylon ties on the inside of one of the dock aluminum trusses and flex it up to one of the posts/legs and finish it wirh a water tight device box. On the land end I would like to run the flex loose on the ground under a 4' connecting ramp and plug it to a receptacle.

Does this seem like an acceptable solution?

Are there terminating plugs for flex conduit? If not can I terminate it on a "loose" box and run a pig tail out of it?

Advertisement

rdy2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Solution for service on a lake dock


Quote:
Originally Posted by rdy2go View Post
I need to run service for receptacle to my dock on the lake. the dck is taken odd the water for the winter, so I would like to be able to disconnect without messing with a junction box. I have a receptacle 6-8 feet from the dock with GFCI upstream. I was thinking about running a liquid tight conduit properly strapped with heavy nylon ties on the inside of one of the dock aluminum trusses

No. Use straps listed for the conduit. Ty raps are not allowed. I would use PVC, not flex. You can use flex where the dock moves.

and flex it up to one of the posts/legs and finish it wirh a water tight device box.

Come up under the dock roof. Attach the weather proof box to the truss there. (convenient).

On the land end I would like to run the flex loose on the ground under a 4' connecting ramp and plug it to a receptacle.

Not on the ground. Attach it to the under side of the ramp.

Does this seem like an acceptable solution?

This is really not a good DIY project unless you promise to get it permitted and inspected. Death or serious bodily injury may result.
The AHJ will have special requirements. He is who you should direct your questions too. No two inspectors will have the same opinion on this project. Or hire a licensed electrician to do it.

Are there terminating plugs for flex conduit? If not can I terminate it on a "loose" box and run a pig tail out of it?
No. You will have to physically disconnect the flex and the wires when you are ready to move the dock. You also must have a disconnect where the new circuit starts. I would replace the existing receptacle and mount a small weather tight disco. You could use a 4x4 treated post and install the disco and receptacle on it. It would be easy to un-install the flex and wires from a disconnect. Since the circuit is protected by a GFCI breaker no other GFCI is required.

Check around and see what others on the lake have done in this regard. To give you an idea how others have done it. Ask if it was performed by a licensed electrician or contractor.


Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 04:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Solution for service on a lake dock


I appreciate the comments. I will check what other guys around me have.
I have no problem with getting it inspected, but having to mess with wiring to move the dock is an operative issue. I had a new sub panel in the garage recently inspected. I will give a call to the inspector to see what his options are.

The other alternative I have considered is to install on land the battery charger, which would be the only regular use, and run the 14V/5 Amps line to the dock. Once in a while I will have to use an extension cord for vacuuming the pontoon or some power tool.

What kind of code issues/safety would I have with the 12 volts line?
rdy2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 12:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Solution for service on a lake dock


You can use an extension cord as temporary power. Since you must move the dock, this may be the best way to go. Temporary. Thats the keyword.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
proper wiring of outlets on dock near water elcid98 Electrical 5 05-04-2009 12:27 AM
Floating dock walk attachment pookemp Building & Construction 5 01-04-2009 07:48 PM
sub pump in a lake rdmccaw Plumbing 2 05-02-2008 09:05 PM
Repainting A Steel Dock Duke76 Painting 4 02-24-2008 03:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts