Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 05:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

solar panel installation


I'm installing my own solar panels. I understand that connecting to my box is as simple as simply running AC cable from inverter to main panel and simply plug into an existing open circuit. For 5592 watts AC how big a breaker do I need to connect into?

jfforster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:18 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

solar panel installation


Not nearly that simple and if you think so, you need a licensed professional with solar experience.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:00 PM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,069
Default

solar panel installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by jfforster View Post
I'm installing my own solar panels. I understand that connecting to my box is as simple as simply running AC cable from inverter to main panel and simply plug into an existing open circuit. For 5592 watts AC how big a breaker do I need to connect into?
jf.....the fact that you can' figure that part out indicates you're way in over your head....that is some of the easiest math there is...

To answer your question....if it's 240vac....25A....120Vac.....50A

I'm assuming your adding up the 'potential' output of all of your solar cells...which would be peak output at full sun....which your only going to get for short periods of time....and then you have the losses through your inverter....and the inverter needs a way to sync up to the existing house AC freq (must be perfectly in phase)....

I'm inclined to agree with rjniles.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:58 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

solar panel installation


Plus the inverter must drop out when it doesn't detect any voltage coming in from the meter. So as to have no potential to electrocute a linesmen.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Grid Tie Solar Panel Manual Transfer Switch Possible? tomguy Electrical 5 04-08-2011 03:55 PM
Installation of a sub panel rprudil Electrical 10 11-01-2010 11:47 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-20-2009 11:09 PM
Aluminum solar panel frame ideas wanted easytim Building & Construction 5 08-03-2008 02:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.