Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-07-2009, 11:13 AM   #1
Rosey

Share |
Cool

solar cells

I am going to build a solar charger for my golf cart. I am new to solar building and uses. Can a for example, a car solar charger that is used on a 12 volt system be used to work on a 36 volt system.

Rosey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 02:01 PM   #2

solar cells

3 wired in series will provide 36 volts, I can't answer though if the solar cell charger wiring will handle the current in series.

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 02:24 PM   #3

solar cells

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosey View Post
I am going to build a solar charger for my golf cart. I am new to solar building and uses. Can a for example, a car solar charger that is used on a 12 volt system be used to work on a 36 volt system.
For a 12v, 30Ah golf cart battery you need to input about 50Ah to recharge.
At 10A max this would take 5 hrs.
10A @ 36v = 360w.
You'd need a solar panel of ~4 square meters in area.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 03:30 PM   #4
Rosey

solar cells

Thanks I will give it a shot.
Old 10-08-2009, 05:49 PM   #5

solar cells

You'll also need a complex electronic interface to mate the solar cell output power and voltage to a lead-acid battery input charging voltage. Solar cells and batteries are finicky devices.
Old 10-08-2009, 06:24 PM   #6

Thumbs up

solar cells

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
You'll also need a complex electronic interface to mate the solar cell output power and voltage to a lead-acid battery input charging voltage. Solar cells and batteries are finicky devices.