Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2012, 12:40 PM   #1
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Sodium replacement with T5


Honestly, there probably not sodium but, they are old, power suckers. I am replacing them w/ 8' four bulb, T5 fixtures. I pulled one the old fixture and found the hot and neutral with the ground going nowhere. Just a piece of ground wire going from the light into the Jbox that had no termination point in the box.
The T5 wiring has a hot line, neutral line, gray with red tracer line (???) and a grounding screw.
What is the gray line and where does it go to?
How do I ground this out?
If it helps, I have 6 banks of 3 each (old lights) to replace.

AKLON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sodium replacement with T5


It's very possible that wire is for a different voltage....perhaps 277V. No information on the ballast?

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:52 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,149
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Sodium replacement with T5


Check the ballast, but I have never seen a fluroscent ballast with a multitap. Do you have a dimmeable ballast in those fixtures.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-07-2012)
Old 03-07-2012, 05:30 PM   #4
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sodium replacement with T5


Checked the balast. Appears that it is for a switch. Capped it with the neutral and half the lights came on. Capped it with the hot and they all came on. Been on for 2.5 hours and seems fine.
Any issues with that I should worry about?
AKLON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:36 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,149
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Sodium replacement with T5


Is there two ballast in the fixture?
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:17 PM   #6
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Sodium replacement with T5


The t5 ballasts I did the other day the gray with red stripes connects with the black. However the one I replaced it with the gray went with the white, so it depends look at the wiring diagram.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:27 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sodium replacement with T5


To AKLON.,

You have what we called either multi level ballast or mulit lamp ballast either words mean the same thing and you have extra conductor that is a giveaway for mulit level ballast so you have either full lamp on or half lamp on depending on the numbers of tubes is on.

To change the light level you will have to refered to the wiring diagram there is two ways to do that.

And you should able get the wiring diagram on the ballast itself if not just snag the model number we will go from there.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sash Replacement vs. Insert Window Replacement dcd22 Windows and Doors 15 07-27-2014 04:39 PM
Changing Size of Replacement Window joside Remodeling 10 05-30-2012 04:46 PM
replace replacement windows theone Windows and Doors 3 10-19-2011 09:16 PM
Wood Sash to Vinyl Replacement Windows Pittsville Building & Construction 3 05-27-2011 02:24 AM
window sash replacement kits? jimhome Remodeling 5 11-02-2009 12:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.