Smoke Detectors For Bedroom - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 08:05 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,313
Rewards Points: 768

Smoke Detectors for Bedroom

We are converting a garage to a bedroom and need the smoke detectors hardwired. We live in an older home and have smoke detectors in every bedroom, but they are battery operated. Will ALL detectors need to be hardwired or just the one for the remodel?


cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:16 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
kbsparky's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000

This depends on where you live. Some areas are requiring all smokes to be hard-wired and interconnected. Others only require upgrades to hard wired status.

Still others do not require diddly-sqwat.

What does your building permit and inspection office have to say?



Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:30 PM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000

Up to the local Fire Inspector is my understanding
Here any large renovation/addition (25% of house usually) & they require all smokes to be hard wired
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 11:46 PM   #4
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016

As others have said you need to check your local requirements. I recently remoded and was ok with one hardwared (with battery backup) in the bedrooms area hallway, bedrooms and others ok battery powered, and all communicated (wirelessly).
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 12:21 AM   #5
Registered User
Termite's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000

Totally up to the jurisdiction. The code does require harwired smokes, but that shouldn't mean that you should have to pull wire in parts of your home that are existing and unaffected by the scope of the remodel. The code also makes provisions for allowing battery operated smokes when pulling wire to interlace the smokes would be impossible or impractical.

My stance...
If you're working in a room that has attic accessible above, for example, then it is a no brainer to have the smoke in the room and the one outside the room interlaced. If you're working upstairs it would be out of line (in my opinion) to require you to bring the remainder of the house's smokes up to current code.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 09:22 AM
Smoke Detectors / CO Detector Bocolo Electrical 9 02-17-2009 05:12 AM
CO and Smoke Detectors Chemist1961 HVAC 20 01-22-2009 06:43 PM
NEC code and Smoke Detectors diverdaveman Electrical 10 07-23-2007 07:27 AM
Wired Smoke Detectors? bjstewa Electrical 2 05-09-2007 08:20 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1