Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Smile

smoke detectors


i have to replace my five smoke detectors in my home ( just found out after seven years there obsolute ) the problem i have is , i don't know where to shut the power off in the circuit box,there is nothing there that says smoke detectors,there is one breaker that is marked " trans " that i don't know what that is ,can anybody here have any suggestions on this topic ,,,,,,,,,,,,thanks and have a nice day

jerry101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:37 PM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

smoke detectors


They are usually wire off a lighting ciruit, you are going to have to find it either by testing the line as you flip breakers. I would suggest testing each one as you don't know where they are fed from.

As you find them it might be a good idea to mark them for future reference.

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:49 PM   #3
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Default

smoke detectors


Are they wired into an alarm service? If you remove one from the ceiling does it have red jacketed wires "daisy chained" to other units? Have you tried removing the face plate from a unit? They usually just unsnap. Do they have batteries inside? Sometimes those smoke detector heads have a plug behind them that allow you to unplug them so that they can be changed. You are quite right that smoke/fire/CO detectors have a usable lifetime and running them beyond that point is like Roullete
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 04:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Smile

smoke detectors


theres 3 wires coming out of the ceiling box a white wire,a black wire and a yellow wire---the wires for the smoke detector has three wires ,one black,one white,and one orange,now i think black wire to black,white to white,and yellow to orange,is that correct ? another question do i have to shut off all the power to the house to do these,"cause i don't see a spot in the circuit box for smoke detectors......i don't have a clue where they hooked these up to,( where there getting there power from ) thanks
jerry101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 295
Default

smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry101 View Post
theres 3 wires coming out of the ceiling box a white wire,a black wire and a yellow wire---the wires for the smoke detector has three wires ,one black,one white,and one orange,now i think black wire to black,white to white,and yellow to orange,is that correct ? another question do i have to shut off all the power to the house to do these,"cause i don't see a spot in the circuit box for smoke detectors......i don't have a clue where they hooked these up to,( where there getting there power from ) thanks
The black and white wires are the hot and neutral wires, respectively. These provide power to the units. The yellow wire is the interconnect wire that causes all of the alarms to sound at once when any single alarm is triggered.

If you cannot determine exactly which breaker shuts the alarm circuit, you could turn off the main breaker long enough to install the new alarms. Make sure that you use a voltage tester of some type before you go grabbing bare wires, though. There's an off chance that your main breaker may not shut off the circuit (if it was originally wired incorrectly or if you main panel turns out to a subpanel, etc.). Never assume anything without using a tester!

Most likely, the alarms are tied into an general lighting circuit.
clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 07:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Default

smoke detectors


thank you all,for all the help,really appreciate it ...........
jerry101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 11:54 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 594
Default

smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry101 View Post
i have to replace my five smoke detectors in my home ( just found out after seven years there obsolute )
Probably not obsolete, as the two basic technologies used in them has not changed much in 7 years. However, they are probably expired, as most smoke detectors use a tiny amount of radioactive material to detect particles of smoke.

Do your smoke detectors have lights on them? Mine do, so I was able to verify that power had been disconnected. Otherwise, just remove the battery and have a helper push the test button while you flip breakers.

operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wired smoke detectors Gabriel24 Electrical 4 12-01-2010 08:02 AM
Smoke Detectors on Different Circuits Mililani Electrical 13 10-17-2010 06:35 PM
Tying in new 120v smoke detectors in an addition to existing ones... matthewschrag Electrical 1 08-20-2010 10:43 AM
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 09:22 AM
Smoke Detectors / CO Detector Bocolo Electrical 9 02-17-2009 05:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.