Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2013, 11:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

smoke detector question


My home is built in 1990, I found this one smoke detector it has a very faint grow in the LED upstairs hallway.

I thought it was installed by the alarm company, but I couldn't find any wires going into the alarm, or power going to it from the alarm panel. Does it look like the builder's or the alarm companies?

Can someone tell me more about it, is it hardwired with 120VAC?
Attached Thumbnails
smoke detector question-img_1480.jpg  

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:47 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

smoke detector question


Looks like an old 120V battery backup unit.

I'd replace them all. They DO have a finite life.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 12:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

smoke detector question


Hi, would this be a direct replacement?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2035240...atalogId=10053

Attic access needed?
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 12:07 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

smoke detector question


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
Hi, would this be a direct replacement?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2035240...atalogId=10053

Attic access needed?
Yup. So is this: http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/1000658...N#.UbIEjJzfLQw

Any SD that is 120V and battery back up will work. Personally I'd also replace one with one that is a combo SD/CO detector.

No attic access is needed. They are replaced like any light fixture. Should just be a wire-for-wire swap. Most times the red wire in the ceiling is your interconnect wire, which on the smoke is typically a yellow. Other than that it is black/black, white/white.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 12:09 PM   #5
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

smoke detector question


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
Hi, would this be a direct replacement?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2035240...atalogId=10053

Attic access needed?
Pretty direct replacement... the top will snap off... sometimes a pin to remove... get a ladder and look around its edges..(EDIT: Oh it says, twist to remeove...duh)

Most replacements will have the capability to wire as a single unit, or feeding any other alarms on your system to go off on any alarms alert.

The wires are color coded, and explained in the directions.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 06-07-2013 at 12:12 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change your clocks, AND Your Smoke Alarm Batteries!! Firefighter3244 General DIY Discussions 10 03-10-2013 07:19 PM
Smoke remediation water based primer how do I know? wbwill Painting 17 02-19-2013 06:03 AM
adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors CapeCod153 Electrical 9 06-21-2012 06:03 AM
Smoke from Initial Fire-off Jaylie HVAC 10 11-21-2011 02:01 AM
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 10:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.