Smoke Detector....more Than One Per Floor? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2006, 12:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

smoke detector....more than one per floor?


We are working on an addition to our home. On the electrical drawing we put that we were adding a smoke detector to the family room. The inspector stamped on there "smoke detectors each level each bedroom interconnected battery back-up" He then wrote "if the addition is over 25% of the largest floor, min of one each level." We started to run the wiring today and then got to thinking....


We already have interconnected battery backup units on each floor of the house, including the main floor which is where the addition is. Does another one then NEED to be added and to be interconnected also? Or does the one on that floor already count, and we can just add a battery operated unit (combo carbon monoxide) as we planned?

Advertisement

sprengle1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 07:20 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,900
Rewards Points: 2,154
Default

smoke detector....more than one per floor?


First off, this is a building code issue, not an electrical isue. Luckily most electricians know this area of the code.
that being said, every area is different as to actual specs.

I can safely assume he will allow the existing units to be used to interconnect with the new ones. It would be crazy not to.
Make SURE that the old units are compatable with whatever new ones you get.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floor joists for 2nd Floor Addition poptop Building & Construction 4 01-11-2008 08:57 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 10:23 PM
Help wih floor extremer1519 Flooring 1 12-27-2005 07:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts