Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2011, 02:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Smoke and CO detector wiring.


I have installed a series of smoke alarms. I have all of them hooked up and the go off a the same time when testing them using battery backup power. I am now ready to hook the 14-3 wire into the panel, however, I am not sure where the red wire gets hooked up in the panel, or if it does at all.

johnmarkkrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 02:12 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Smoke and CO detector wiring.


Do you have these smoke detectors on a dedicated circuit, if you do make sure that is what your local codes say. If it was me(even if code said to put it on a dedicated circuit) I would put them on a circuit with some lights for you know if your breaker for the smoke detectors is off or tripped.

The red is only used as an interconnect between the smokes, the red would not get hooked up in the panel.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
johnmarkkrop (11-11-2011)
Old 11-11-2011, 02:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Smoke and CO detector wiring.


Thank you Darren. I do have it on a circuit with some lights, although I didn't realize the benefit of know when the circuit may be tripped, just was more convenient. Thanks again for your help.
johnmarkkrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:07 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,487
Rewards Points: 2,316
Default

Smoke and CO detector wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Do you have these smoke detectors on a dedicated circuit, if you do make sure that is what your local codes say. If it was me(even if code said to put it on a dedicated circuit) I would put them on a circuit with some lights for you know if your breaker for the smoke detectors is off or tripped.

The red is only used as an interconnect between the smokes, the red would not get hooked up in the panel.
I'll be wiring in some soon.....might be too late for you now....but only use 14/2 from the CB or light to the first detector. That way it's unlikly anyone tries to do something with the red wire....

If you do have the red wire hanging somewhere...wire nut it...and put a tag on it as to what it is.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Smoke and CO detector wiring.


The wiring diagram which came with the detectors should show what is connected to power and what is used for the interconnect...
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:44 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Smoke and CO detector wiring.


Could always use the red for an extra circuit if you need it.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on installing Smoke Detectors danielrg Electrical 10 08-30-2011 12:08 PM
White smoke after idling for about 20 minutes RedHelix Automotive Repairs 3 10-25-2010 07:28 PM
Smoke Alarms Just Would Not Stop lundyg Electrical 2 12-30-2009 08:09 AM
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 09:22 AM
Masons: Smoke Shelf removal? BarryKaraoke HVAC 4 01-12-2008 06:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.