Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 10:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Share |
Default

Smoke Alarms


Is their a code that smoke alarms have to be on a dedicate breaker or they can go on any. also does a smoke alarm count as a circuit or not and you can wire them up to any 15 amp line.

POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:26 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,394
Default

Smoke Alarms


Some locations like Delaware require a dedicated circuit. The NEC does not. Check with your building officials.

Smoke alarms are fine on a 15 amp circuit.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (01-12-2013)
Old 01-11-2013, 10:32 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,842
Default

Smoke Alarms


Covered in 2006 dedicated circuit for smoke detectors
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:35 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

Smoke Alarms


Some locations require a non dedicated circuit so that you can tell if the breaker is tripped. In Ontario they must NOT be on the AFCI bedroom circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:35 PM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,804
Default

Smoke Alarms


Common but good question.

For the most part, the smokes can go on any ckt....but, they can not have a switch to turn them off except for the breaker.

With that said....one good idea I got from this forum was to put them on one of the light ckts.....that way, your less likely to turn them off if they start to 'bother' you.

So...in my case...since I'm adding a bunch in my new addition...I put them on the laundry room lights...
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 06:30 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Smoke Alarms


Not in my location, but some areas require smokes to be on a bedroom circuit. Don't forget about CO detectors as well. There are "new" requirements concerning those as well. I would ask both these questions to your local building department.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:29 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,863
Default

Smoke Alarms


Smokes must also be wired so that if one goes off, they all do.

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kidde Smoke Alarms FALSE alarms DSmith1 Electrical 4 07-06-2014 02:37 AM
Wiring for residential smoke alarms under 2008 NEC jeffers Electrical 13 05-13-2010 09:51 PM
Smoke Alarms Just Would Not Stop lundyg Electrical 2 12-30-2009 08:09 AM
AC Smoke alarms - Nuisance Alarms jamiedolan General DIY Discussions 8 10-27-2008 07:56 AM
12 Smoke Alarms sootybuttercup Electrical 8 09-19-2006 08:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.