Smart Meters - Aluminum, Copper Wires Incompatible? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 06:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


So the local power company here in Houston (Centerpoint) sent out a guy to swap our house out to a smart meter yesterday. Only problem is... he couldn't do it.

Apparently the wire running to the house is copper, and the wiring in the house is aluminum (or vice versa?), and there's some "lug" in the analog one that allows this combination but the new smart meter isn't so forgiving.

Now I have to have the power line from the house to the box replaced, about a $4,000 project since the line is underground and a couple hundred feet of it will have to be replaced.

Does this sound right to anyone?

Advertisement


Last edited by JSchool; 11-15-2012 at 06:08 AM.
JSchool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:22 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


Sounds like theres more to it than copper to aluminum issue at the meter. If they are telling you to replace the underground conductors they are probably failing.

Advertisement

__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (11-15-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 06:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


Okay I spoke to my girlfriend and got a bit more information (I didn't speak to the meter replacer myself). What you're saying might have something to do with it - apparently he measured low voltage in the line. But this is what the notice says that he left:

"Found a foreign clamp in the meter can splicing the line-side wire energizing the loadside lug. Wire needs to be replaced".

I have an electrical engineering background but I only work with low power devices, so I'm not quite sure what he means other than it sounds like the cable had been cut previously requiring a splice and the clamp doing so shouldn't be there because... they don't want it there? Apparently it used to be acceptable and now it's not so they won't replace the meter. Any of that sound right?

Last edited by JSchool; 11-15-2012 at 06:43 AM.
JSchool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:38 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


Sounds to me that the meter can is damaged and that when someone fixed it, they didn't use the correct AL/CU lug. Ultimately the POCO will tell you what you are required to do. If they say you have to replace the can, you are going to have to replace the can.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,511
Rewards Points: 1,378
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


Sounds like a bypass.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
Julius793 (11-16-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 07:20 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


Yep. Sounds like someone was getting free juice. If this is the case, I'm surprised he didn't pull the meter until this was corrected.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:47 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


I wish I were getting free juice!

Okay apparently this is what is going on.

The line in coming from underground to the meter was too short so it was spliced (by the power company) some time ago. But the splice is making contact with something which is causing a voltage issue.

The power company wants to remove the splice because they don't allow that sort of solution anymore. But they say that the way to fix that is to run a whole new line out to their box in the back yard.

It's kind of bizarre because they did this to begin. This is all within their own locked box, yet I'm supposed to pay 4k to run a new line to it.

Seems like the meter could just be... moved lower. It's only a six inch splice. Assuming there's no degradation in the underground lines, would that not be a perfectly reasonable alternative?

Last edited by JSchool; 11-15-2012 at 08:54 AM.
JSchool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:14 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


Around here, the PoCo will splice line side conductors in the meter can to save re-running the lateral. I've never seen them do it for a drop. They just replace the cable.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


tell them your not intereested in the smart meter or the cost associated with repairing it .they should foot tje bill
mrairflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 06:09 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrairflow View Post
tell them your not intereested in the smart meter or the cost associated with repairing it .they should foot tje bill
"Might as well talk to the wall"

Advertisement

__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid Roof Smart Vent and ice dams mbergm57 Roofing/Siding 5 10-14-2011 06:49 PM
GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch vanisle Electrical 8 10-27-2010 01:34 AM
one service main two meters danadude1 Electrical 15 02-28-2010 01:17 AM
What trim is more water resistant and holds paint better: Miratec or Smart Trim? Studly Building & Construction 4 10-03-2009 08:45 AM
GE cl200 kwa meters protechplumbing Electrical 15 09-23-2008 12:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts