Smart Meters - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2015, 05:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,731
Rewards Points: 2,998
Default

Smart Meters


Is it worth getting a smart meter put on our house? The power company sent a letter telling us they'll be installing one in 2 weeks.

I'm thinking about calling to tell them not to bother since I haven't heard anything good about these meters.

What are the pro's and con's? If you have any experience with one, I'd like to hear about it... good or bad.

Advertisement

__________________

gma2rjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 05:54 PM   #2
Ole Wood Worker

 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 8,846
Rewards Points: 4,570
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Smart Meters


Barb, we have one and can't tell any difference.

Advertisement

__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BigJim For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Old 01-05-2015, 05:54 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 9,664
Rewards Points: 6,122
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Smart Meters


Not sure about where you are but here we did not have a choice. They just came and installed it. You could not refuse. We have not had any problems with them. We do have time of day usage here. You pay a different rate at different times of day. You can also call up their web page and log into your account. Then you can see how much power you are using everyday and at what rates. I like that feature.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Old 01-05-2015, 06:25 PM   #4
Member
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 8,598
Rewards Points: 3,274
Default

Smart Meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Not sure about where you are but here we did not have a choice. They just came and installed it. You could not refuse.
Same here and I haven't seen the meter reader since.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 06:33 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 15,423
Rewards Points: 4,328
Default

Smart Meters


We have one and actually are getting a more accurate reading. It was an automatic with our city utility. No one has a choice to say no. Ameren is supposed to start converting the gas meters over to Smart meters, but are behind by a year on that project.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 07:15 PM   #6
Ole Wood Worker

 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 8,846
Rewards Points: 4,570
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Smart Meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Not sure about where you are but here we did not have a choice. They just came and installed it. You could not refuse. We have not had any problems with them. We do have time of day usage here. You pay a different rate at different times of day. You can also call up their web page and log into your account. Then you can see how much power you are using everyday and at what rates. I like that feature.
Same here...
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:10 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 8,552
Rewards Points: 4,426
Default

Smart Meters


I can log into my account and see my usage in real time...more or less....at least by the hour.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:13 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 9,664
Rewards Points: 6,122
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Smart Meters


We are usually a day or two behind on the web site.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:36 PM   #9
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,252
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Smart Meters


You have a choice to say no here in California. But it will cost you a one time opt out fee then an additional monthly charge.

Old style meters tend to slow down as they age and rarely go faster. I saw my monthly bill increase at my place in the desert during the winter when it wasn't really used. That is on so cal Edison. I heard a story from two of my journeymen that there bills went up as well on same power co. My regular house is on the city muni power and its about the same as before on a smart meter.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:50 PM   #10
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,252
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Smart Meters


If you're curious about you're own state or utility google "smart meter opt out ______"

Add your location or utility name to the blank. Memphis has no opt out fee as of 2013.
In California the state PUC set the rules for opt out with input from both sides.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:54 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,651
Rewards Points: 2,962
Default

Smart Meters


http://www.wfaa.com/story/money/cons...ters/21311355/
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Old 01-05-2015, 09:10 PM   #12
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,252
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Smart Meters


I just was looking at DTE which I think is Detroit Edison? There opt out meter is the same as a smart meter with the radio disabled. But it still records all the data, just gets manually downloaded.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to clw1963 For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Old 01-05-2015, 10:45 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 9,664
Rewards Points: 6,122
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Smart Meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by clw1963 View Post
You have a choice to say no here in California. But it will cost you a one time opt out fee then an additional monthly charge.

Old style meters tend to slow down as they age and rarely go faster. I saw my monthly bill increase at my place in the desert during the winter when it wasn't really used. That is on so cal Edison. I heard a story from two of my journeymen that there bills went up as well on same power co. My regular house is on the city muni power and its about the same as before on a smart meter.
So before you were getting more than you paid for because your meter was faulty. Now with a new you meter you are paying a fair price. That's not the smart meter's fault. That would happen anyway if they decided to change your meter for regular maintenance.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 11:53 PM   #14
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,252
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Smart Meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
So before you were getting more than you paid for because your meter was faulty. Now with a new you meter you are paying a fair price. That's not the smart meter's fault. That would happen anyway if they decided to change your meter for regular maintenance.
Not really. I should have said meters that have issues tend to go slower. It's not that ALL meters go slow with age. I've tested meters for residential and commercial, although it was a while back and didn't find a faulty one. Although I found one that just wasn't turning at all after an outage. Only bad meter I found, personally.

What the smart meters offer isn't accuracy as much as information. You may think it is great to see your usage within an hours or a days time. But I see the potential to hike rates during peak demand times. Not just tiered rates, not blanket TOU billing. But by the hour rates. Here in California where we've lost a nuke plant, are cutting fossil fuels from our energy profile and new resources aren't built fast enough... Somehow they'll exploit it. IMHO.

As far as paying fair price, I'm all for it. That's how I get paid. But I personally don't trust big brother and all the info collected. I don't trust that the new meters are any more accurate than the old ones. What kind of "corrections" the electronics can make on your readings. Maybe nothing. I just don't like them.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 05:01 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Default

Smart Meters


That's a good point about privacy. There is some Web site that is dedicated to opposition of smart meters and privacy.
Just Google it.
I read some of it a while back and not totally convinced that my rights are violated.

But I do agree. I don't trust them.

I placed a TED on my panel a while back to monitor my usage. I didn't trust their manual readings. TED = The Energy Detective. It works; talks to my WiFi and somewhat expensive.

Advertisement

al881 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to al881 For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (01-06-2015)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart Meters - aluminum, copper wires incompatible? JSchool Electrical 9 11-16-2012 05:09 AM
GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch vanisle Electrical 8 10-27-2010 12:34 AM
one service main two meters danadude1 Electrical 15 02-28-2010 12:17 AM
What trim is more water resistant and holds paint better: Miratec or Smart Trim? Studly Building & Construction 4 10-03-2009 07:45 AM
GE cl200 kwa meters protechplumbing Electrical 15 09-22-2008 11:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts