Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 11:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

smart meter ???


If you pull a smart meter, will it stay set when you plug it back in?

afsolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:57 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

smart meter ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by afsolt View Post
If you pull a smart meter, will it stay set when you plug it back in?
Why would you want to pull a meter?

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 12:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

smart meter ???


to evaluate panel in full.
afsolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 01:19 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Rewards Points: 250
Default

smart meter ???


First a question. Do you really want to pull a POCO owned device that's phoning home to the POCO multiple times an hour? It probably also phones home when reconnected. I do believe you can get hit upside the head pretty hard if the POCO notices that you pulled the meter.

That being said, when I had the POCO disconnect & reconnect for a service upgrade. Nothing was done to the meter and it remembered the total energy already delivered to my house.
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 01:25 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

smart meter ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by afsolt View Post
to evaluate panel in full.
What is wrong and why would you like to evaluate it?
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:38 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

smart meter ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by afsolt View Post
If you pull a smart meter, will it stay set when you plug it back in?
Don't you think that if the meter didn't have a memory that people would be pulling them all the time?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 07:19 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,251
Rewards Points: 516
Default

smart meter ???


All I know is you will never catch me pulling one. Aside from the fact that if the seal on the meter is broken here it is a court date, I have seen them come out faster than they go in. About two months ago I had a service turned on...Poco guy checked both visualy and with a meter to verify the breaker off. When he put the meter in it came right back out with a bang and flash. It cleared the hood of my brothers truck about 10 feet away and landed in the neighbors yard

danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart Meter jerrylatham Electrical 3 12-31-2011 10:26 AM
Meter Main problem. right-sided meter? acerunner Electrical 6 07-23-2011 01:41 PM
Smart Meter RickyG HVAC 6 05-25-2011 10:31 PM
Possible Defective or Incorrect Electrical Meter? MorganB Electrical 10 01-18-2011 10:51 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 07:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.