Small Issue/ No Clue, Though - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


A wire came out of this plate and I'm not sure how to repair this.

Here are the pics:
Attached Thumbnails
Small issue/ no clue, though-a1335501.jpg   Small issue/ no clue, though-3a8a266f.jpg   Small issue/ no clue, though-cb715ef0.jpg   Small issue/ no clue, though-35eadd77.jpg  

Advertisement

Non-handyman forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


You need a new socket. It looks like a GU-10 socket from here ....

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:04 PM   #3
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You need a new socket. It looks like a GU-10 socket from here ....
I agree, don't think you can re-attach the wire, new socket
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


New socket required...and turn off the breaker if you haven't already. And call around before you drive around...may be a bit hard to find.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:29 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


You can get a new socket here.

Or, you can find them cheaper on ebaY.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 09-09-2012 at 07:35 PM.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (09-09-2012)
Old 09-09-2012, 07:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You can get a new socket here.

There you go!!!
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Guys, forgive me, I'm really hopeless...those wires go up behind everything. Do I pull out the aluminum thing for access and, if so, how do I remove it and what do I do to secure it back in there?

Last edited by Non-handyman forever; 09-09-2012 at 08:37 PM.
Non-handyman forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:37 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


A better picture.....
Attached Thumbnails
Small issue/ no clue, though-0cffd79a.jpg  
Non-handyman forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:44 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


You don't. Just cut the remaining wire, get a new socket, + a couple of porcelain wirenuts, and you're good to go!
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:06 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You don't. Just cut the remaining wire, get a new socket, + a couple of porcelain wirenuts, and you're good to go!
Do I use wire strippers on the old wire?
Non-handyman forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:09 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Quote:
Originally Posted by Non-handyman forever View Post
Do I use wire strippers on the old wire?
You can use the wire stripper unit however some case it will work the best with uility knife due the insualting materal is differnt than conventail conductors are.

But make sure you get the porcelain wirenuts as KBsparky mention due the heat inside the luminaire. ( no plastique wirenuts please. )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
tylernt (12-22-2012)
Old 09-10-2012, 01:20 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Thank you very much for all the prompt replies.

Great bunch of people on this forum!
Non-handyman forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:27 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Guys, they don't have porcelain wirenuts up here in Canada but I bought a pack of these:

http://www.tnb-canada.com/en/catalog..._marrcat_e.pdf

They are rated for temperatures up to 302 degrees Fahrenheit.

Would they be fine?

I am really clueless, guys, but is 'wire range' an important factor? The range is from 18 to 10.

Non-handyman forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:23 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


Bump.....
Non-handyman forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:33 PM   #15
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 628
Default

Small issue/ no clue, though


http://www.yourwelcome.co.uk/blog/ha...omplete-guide/ says halogen GU10 can reach 482F.

Wire range is an issue, it looks like the wires in your fixture are 14ga or 16ga though so you should be fine. I recommend twisting the connections tightly with pliers before adding the wirenuts.

Advertisement

__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace condensate drain/trap issue SteveC HVAC 33 12-27-2012 12:46 PM
Would running a small duct through cmu be an issue? rgsgww HVAC 2 06-21-2012 01:32 AM
Flood/Drainage Issue On Garage Man Door altc81 Building & Construction 2 04-17-2011 09:19 AM
HELP - with my breaker box. Interesting issue. LordX Electrical 75 02-23-2009 04:14 PM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 02:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts