Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2006, 09:04 PM   #1
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

small dilemma adding wires to a switchbox


I have a 3 gang switch box I need to add a romex 14-2 that I fished from the ceiling. The problem is, all of the wires run into this box are run into the top. The box has built in wire clamps at top and bottom. I can't figure out how i could fish the new wire down to the bottom of the box. I know one option is to cut the box out and put in a new remodel line box. The question is this, I'm guessing I can't just piggy-back one wire into the same clamp as another right?

J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 09:17 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Default

small dilemma adding wires to a switchbox


Yes, you likely can, if it will fit.
Many plastic nail-on boxes are rated for two wires per entry.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 07:32 AM   #3
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 0
Default

small dilemma adding wires to a switchbox


beautiful. Thats a big help. I did not want to have cut this box out. The strange thing is, whoever was here first actually ran two of the wires from underneatht he box, up and over to the top to feed them through rather than just coming up from the bottom of the box. Grrr. Thanks.
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Number of circuits needed for a small kitchen? All responses welcome! alexz Electrical 5 04-07-2007 10:38 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.