Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2007, 10:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Slot #3 blocked in Q0N Breaker Panel


Help! I need a separate line for the under-the-cabinet microwave. The line that fed the oven light and fan doesn't make it.
Slot number 3 in my Square D Q0N breaker panel (installed about 1975) appeared to be the last slot available, but upon removing the cover plate, I discovered that there is a tab welded to the clip bar to prevent that slot from being used. First question--why? Second question--Can I remove the tab and use the slot? Third question--Since there are no slots in the mounting bar for accomodating the mounting cam of a Q0T (tandem) breaker, where can I find a tandem breaker with just the conventional clips if I need to go that route? (There is one intalled now.)
Thanks in advance,
dallen

dallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 10:49 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Slot #3 blocked in Q0N Breaker Panel


There one thing i need to know is the model number of the breaker box it should be on the label on the panel door cover.

this will tell us what type of load centre you have and there are two verison of QO series tandaem breakers to use one is CLT type [ it will come with locking cam below of the breaker ] and the other type is Non CLT type breaker


once i know the info then we can tell what to do next

Merci , Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Slot #3 blocked in Q0N Breaker Panel


Marc,
Merci pour la reponse tres rapide. (That's the extent of my French)
I couldn't find a number labeled "Model" , but a sticker inside the cabinet did say, "Intrerior Cat. No. Q0N 26-614HA Use Square D class CTL type Q0 and Q1 Breakers."
There are no slots in the clip bar to accomodate the mounting cam of the Q0T type breakers. The one tandem breaker already mounted in the box is held by two clips like all of the other switches.

dallen
dallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:31 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Slot #3 blocked in Q0N Breaker Panel


Ok try this photo if i get the words right with the tadem breakers with the locking cam on it http://ecatalog.squared.com/catalog/.../173060102.jpg


that one let me know if that describe it right ?

Merci , Marc

P.S. the model numbers will useally say " QO12-24M100" [ this is a example ]
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Slot #3 blocked in Q0N Breaker Panel


Marc,
I think I may have a knock-off (fake) SquareD panel. There are no SquareD stamps anywhere on the box or the door/cover --only stickers saying that's what it is.
I did find a sticker that said, "Class C.T.L. Panelboard Interior Issue No. 8181. Another sticker said use Class CTL Q0 and Q1 breakers. All of that type of breaker have the mounting cam like the picture you linked to, but my panel doesn't have the slots for the cam, so I can't use that type. My problem is to find a tandem breaker without the cam (mounting foot). I am beginning to suspect it is against code to use a tandem breaker without the foot in this box, but I would like to know if I can get one to fit and what the dangers are, and I'm still wondering why slot #3 is blocked.

dallen
dallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:37 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

Slot #3 blocked in Q0N Breaker Panel


Most of the panels that will accept tandems will only have the CTL slot in the bottom buss positions. You may be able to verify this by looking at the label. They may show 2 connection dots if you can use tandems. Also a part number might say something like QO200M3040.

Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Breaker Panel In Detach Garage Jamn68j Electrical 2 04-25-2007 03:30 PM
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 1 01-28-2004 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.