Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2009, 07:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


I am running to a subpanel in a workshop 30 ft from my house. My house service is 200 amp. I plan to run a total of 135 ft to the workshop from a 60 amp breaker in my main panel with either 6-3 copper, or 2-3 aluminum to a sub-panel. 30 ft of the run will be underground, which I can put in conduit. If I can get the aluminum for less than the copper, should I go with that?

Roy Rowlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


I'm not an AL fan, especially underground.

And, will #2 fit in the 60A breaker lugs?

And, you won't be using 6/3 in the conduit (unless it's underground rated wire), you will be using three #6's and a #10 ground (THWN).

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


Why could I not use interior 6-3 with ground if I put it in conduit?
Roy Rowlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


It must be rated for wet conditions- buried
THWN is rated for wet use - NMB is not
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Rowlett View Post
Why could I not use interior 6-3 with ground if I put it in conduit?
Conduit does not matter. In the ground is considered a wet area. No NM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 09:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


The wire I am looking at on Craigslist is described as " #2 ALUMINUM TRIPLEX OVERHEAD OUTSIDE WIRE ". Does this sound like wet rated wire? Could I put this in conduit?
Roy Rowlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 09:44 PM   #7
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


It is probably wet rated, most tri-plex is, but you will have to add the ground conductor, and runn it in conduit if it is not rated for direct burial.
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 10:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


Do you mean that I would either have to use underground rated 6-3 wire or use separate threaded #6 wires plus gnd (#10?)in conduit? Once inside the house and workshop, I would still have to use conduit to protect the conductors, right?
Roy Rowlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 10:14 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


Option 1 - direct burial wire with 4 wires
Option 2 - individual wires in conduit, entire run
Option 3 - cable with required wires in conduit, conduit sized for cable

In all options the wire must be wet rated
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 10:22 PM   #10
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sizing wire for sub-panel.


"Overhead" triplex likely has a bare neutral, so running it through conduit underground is out of the question.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Shrink on Bare Ground wire in Panel jamiedolan Electrical 5 01-17-2009 03:40 PM
Wire size for Sub panel DaleB Electrical 13 09-18-2008 12:28 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
Sub Panel and Wire Guage budhead Electrical 14 08-19-2008 04:18 PM
Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions Al the Diy guy Electrical 23 02-03-2008 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.