Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 03:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Size of wire and breaker


I am installing a couple of 60watt lights and a sprinkler control box and a small water feature pump. i will have a run of about 325 feet. what size of wire and what size of breaker for the main run to a small sub panel with 3 breakers of 15 amps for the lights, sprinkler and fountain pump?

dwagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 554
Default

Size of wire and breaker


Doesn't seem like this would draw much so three 15A circuits sounds like overkill. Do you know power draw of fountain pump? Sprinkler controller is probably less than 25W.

I think a single 14-2 UF cable fed by a single 15A breaker with a GFCI receptacle instead of a breaker panel at the remote point then slave the lights, pump, and sprinklers off of the load side of the GFCI. You get a 120VAC outlet as an extra bonus.

curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:21 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Size of wire and breaker


If I'm digging 325', I'm installing conduit, and leaving provisions for the future, without seeing what you are actually doing, I might pull #6AWG, to a remote panel...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:27 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Size of wire and breaker


Go big or go home lol. Probably need a number 6 anyways at that distance. Taking a random number of 8a you would need a number 8 wire to get it out there.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (07-11-2012)
Old 07-12-2012, 09:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Size of wire and breaker


Make sure you install pull Boxes if there are to
many 90s
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size wire and breaker needed? stlouistruckn1 HVAC 4 02-06-2012 09:35 PM
wire size vs breaker size Jimster 481 Electrical 3 08-20-2011 09:41 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.