Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2010, 02:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


Hi, I've been reading the forum for a while and gotten some great info just lurking around! I need you guys to confirm something for me:

I'm in the process of rewiring a friends house pretty much top to bottom. The new 200A panel is installed and just about the whole house has been rewired into it. I'm at the point of having the old panel disconnected and i want to make sure I have the proper cable.

My plan is to run a new entrance wire from the meter into the house using either 2/0 copper or 4/0 aluminum. I know both will be OK, I just want to know if there are any compelling reasons to go with one or the other? The current run is not in conduit, so I was just going to replicate the existing setup.

This brings up another question; who 'owns' the wire from the meter up to the drip loop where it connects to the wire coming from the pole? The only reason I care is that (IMHO) it looks to be in pretty sad shape, i.e. the outer insulation is cracked and falling apart. If it is the homeowner's responsibility I will replace it and have the POCO connect to that.

Thanks in advance!

Beemer533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 02:53 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


In almost all instance the homeowner is responsible for the service drop from the utility connection to the meter socket. 2/0 Cu SE or 4/0 Al SE is the proper cable to use. If you have upgraded to the 200 amp from a smaller service the meter socket and the riser from the meter will also need to be replaced.

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 03:05 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


why are you working on another persons house if you are not a qualified electrician? Since you have not mentioned your location, I will go with the odds and say you cannot legally work on your friends house and it is obvious you shouldn't be working on another persons house.


sorry to be abrupt but when you are dealing with not only another persons property, you may be dealing with their life, it is important you know what you are doing.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 03:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


Thanks for the reply. So I would have to replace the wire from the meter to the service drop myself and the POCO would just connect to that when they return to reinstall the meter?

I had checked the meter socket previously and it is marked "100/200". From what I have found out this indicates it should be fine for a 200A service?
Beemer533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 03:16 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,040
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


You will likely have one issue as Nap has eluded to ... the power company will require an inspection by the local code authority before they reconnect to the new panel and meter socket enclosure and service entrance conductors. That will likely require that an electrician has acquired a electrical permit from the local building codes office. A homeowners permit rarly covers a service upgrade.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 03:18 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
why are you working on another persons house if you are not a qualified electrician? Since you have not mentioned your location, I will go with the odds and say you cannot legally work on your friends house and it is obvious you shouldn't be working on another persons house.


sorry to be abrupt but when you are dealing with not only another persons property, you may be dealing with their life, it is important you know what you are doing.
No problem. I had entered my location when I signed up, but I just noticed it is not showing up...

Either way in NY, outside of a few city's (Syracuse, NY etc) you do not need to be a licensed electrician to do electrical work on single family resedences. In this case the POCO will inspect before turning power back on.
Where I live, in Syracuse I have a certificate that allows me to work in my own home. Outside the city limits that restriction does not apply.

I believe NY is one of very few states like this.

To address your concern, I have been working on friends homes for nearly 10 years doing this type of work.

This is, however the first time I needed to go outside the house, hence my question about who owns the wire from the service drop.

I do appreciate the concern though, in all seriousness.
Beemer533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 03:28 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,040
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


Quote:
Either way in NY, outside of a few city's (Syracuse, NY etc) you do not need to be a licensed electrician to do electrical work on single family residences.
I would suggest that you check that with the poco and your county building codes office. I have never known that to be the case anywhere in the USA unless it is your home.... Or you are working for a licensed contractor who is supervising the job.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:54 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Size and type of entrance wire for 200A?


FYI, many areas in both NY and PA do not require licensing, or even electrical permits.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub-Panel Wire Size and Conduit Questions Tmb9862 Electrical 3 12-02-2009 11:48 PM
Size of Wire & type of wire agman Electrical 6 11-10-2009 08:13 PM
What size and type of nails to use keviadams General DIY Discussions 2 09-28-2009 12:25 PM
Please confirm wire size and type for amperage. wantsomegetsome Electrical 14 05-07-2009 05:49 AM
Wire size and type in Rigid Metal Conduit Al the Diy guy Electrical 5 02-05-2008 08:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.