Site Wiring Plan - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2010, 07:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Site Wiring Plan


I'd appreciate any input on this project for a home site in Maine. Please see the attached drawing.

I'm building a garage which will have a 200A overhead service, the meter and the Main Disconnect breakers.

I then want to go underground about 150' to a 200A load center in building 1 that then feeds 2 other buildings each with their own 50A load center.

Question 1: What kind of cable do I need to go underground from the garage to Building 1?

Question 2: I also want to have 50A service in the garage? Do I need to return from Building 1 to the garage with another cable, or is there a way to go from the Main Disconnect to a Sub Panel in the garage?

Many thanks.

Advertisement

jimmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,390
Rewards Points: 3,574
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Site Wiring Plan


The only thing I can answer for sure is #3. Install a main 200 amp panel in the garage, not just a disconnect. Then you can install breakers to feed the house and the circuits in the garage. If the two other out buildings are closer to the garage than the house feed them also from the garage panel.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 07:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Site Wiring Plan


Thanks. That seems like a logical way to do it, but the few 200A breakers for SquareD QO panels that I've seen online seem ridiculously expensive. Maybe I need to do some more research.
jimmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 09:00 PM   #4
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Site Wiring Plan


What attached drawing?
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 09:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Site Wiring Plan


Attached Thumbnails
Site Wiring Plan-sitewiringdwg.jpg  
jimmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 09:54 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Site Wiring Plan


Why go all the way to the house and then back to the garage. Use a 200 amp 3r feed-thru panel on the outside of the garage then go to the garage interior and on to the house.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 11:54 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Site Wiring Plan


Why not just use the 200 amp feed thru load centre that way you can run the garage circuit straight shot and the rest can go to the house and from there you can split it however once you pass the main location everything else have to run in 4 conductor format.

There are few breaker panel manufacter do make that verison. so it kinda semi common espcally true with farm locations which I done pretty often on small farms but larger farms the bet is off.

The cost of feedthru breaker panel will save you the extra cost to run back to the garage { in conduit and conductors so you add the cost up fast 150 feet worth of 16mm˛[6awg] that will add up very fast { about 400~600 € } plus your time to trench it}.

I know the Feedthru load centre cost more but as you see the extra materals that don't need it and it will simplify it.

Merci,Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
wiring help - subpanel? plunkinberry Electrical 2 03-12-2009 02:37 PM
Wiring Sequence on Adding a New Outlet kennykenny Electrical 9 06-09-2008 03:06 PM
Wiring garages/outdoor The Right Way? lanispet Electrical 6 04-04-2008 12:04 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts