Single Wall Oven 3 Or 4 Wire Rough-in - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 03:05 PM   #1
Member
 
crankcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Single wall oven 3 or 4 wire rough-in


We had our cabinets built with an opening to allow a future single wall oven. Just remove doors and shelves for the oven RO. The Cadillac of single convection wall ovens that we would use pulls 22.6A at 240V. So I am roughing in a 30A circuit. I'm using Smurf ENT and pulling seperate conductors. Is a wall oven similar to freestanding range and require 4 conductors? Also would a #14 ground be sufficient? thanks pros.

Advertisement

crankcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:12 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Single wall oven 3 or 4 wire rough-in


Ground would need to be #10 CU for a 30A circuit. As for 3/4 wire...there would be no way to tell you without the specs or model.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:32 PM   #3
Member
 
crankcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Single wall oven 3 or 4 wire rough-in


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Ground would need to be #10 CU for a 30A circuit. As for 3/4 wire...there would be no way to tell you without the specs or model.
Thanks kbuz, I wasn't sure if there was a standard. This would be our first wall oven. I found the installation manual off the Whirlpool website and it looks like a 4 wire. Looking at the Whirlpool Gold true convection WOS92EC7AB
crankcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:13 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,228
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

Single wall oven 3 or 4 wire rough-in


Typically if the oven is 240 VAC only, it takes a 3 wire circuit (2 hots and a ground).

If it is 120/240 VAC, it takes a 4 wire circuit (2 hots, a neutral and a ground).

You can always future proof the installation and run the neutral even if you do not require it for the current installation.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:30 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Single wall oven 3 or 4 wire rough-in


Pull four wires and you wont have to worry about it.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
J. V. (03-04-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 04:43 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

Single wall oven 3 or 4 wire rough-in


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Pull four wires and you wont have to worry about it.
I agree, pull all 4 wires, even if you need only 3.

You can always cap off the neutral if it's not needed and if it sits there for the next 100 years, who cares? But if you pull only 3 wires, and when the oven is replaced, the new one needs 4, that's trouble.

Even worse, if the new oven needs 4 wires and there's only 3, most handyman types (and sadly, a lot of pros) will simply use the ground for the neutral also. That's unsafe.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:49 PM   #7
Member
 
crankcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Single wall oven 3 or 4 wire rough-in


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Even worse, if the new oven needs 4 wires and there's only 3, most handyman types (and sadly, a lot of pros) will simply use the ground for the neutral also. That's unsafe.
good point

Advertisement

crankcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Concrete Wall Framing Against Stairs Epicsoccer Remodeling 7 01-13-2013 04:11 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-09-2011 12:00 AM
Double wall oven with 4 wire, grounded conductor traxman Electrical 4 05-02-2011 10:31 PM
single wall convection oven wire and braker cgipson Appliances 0 02-22-2011 10:32 PM
Removing spine wall beko Building & Construction 12 02-02-2010 02:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts