Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2010, 08:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Share |
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


I recently installed two 240v baseboard heaters in series with one double-pole wall thermostat and it works fine. I saw a 240v baseboard today on ebay that says it works off of a single pole thermostat. Could that be a mistake? Thanks very much.

kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 08:05 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


NO mistake. They will work fine the thermostat will not have a OFF postions. The heater will always have power to it on one of the hots.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 08:11 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


Sorry, I don't get it. There are two hots and no neutral running through my existing installed TS. For the new installation, are you saying that if I use a single pole TS, one of the hots just runs directly to the heater?
kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 08:11 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


Also, if you're right, how do you turn power off?
kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:01 AM   #5
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,673
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


Quote:
Originally Posted by kentannenbaum View Post
Also, if you're right, how do you turn power off?
Ayuh,... At the Circuit Breaker, as Always...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:12 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


Actually, may not seem it, but I do understand that. Okay then, one thing: now this does say I'm not fully knowledgeable...

If the 240v heater sales info says it takes a single pole TM, can I nevertheless use a double-pole TM instead? Again, thanks.
kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:06 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


YOu only need to cut power to one line to stop the heater from heating. Of course there is still power at the heater. If you are going to work on the unit you need to shut off the breaker. You can use a double pole stat if you wish.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:21 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


Thanks, much obliged
kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 03:38 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

single vs double pole for 240v


In a typical double-pole T-stat there are two micro switches. One is temperature controlled, the other is just an on-off switch which only opens when the t-stat is turned all the way down to "off".

A single-pole t-stat is the same thing without the "on/off" micro switch.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch. adrien2 Electrical 6 05-28-2009 02:44 PM
Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers grisha_1 Electrical 4 01-31-2009 07:40 AM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.