Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-20-2008, 10:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


i am wiring a new water heater that calls for 4 40 amp or 2 75 amp circuits. Am i able to use single pole 40 amp circuits with #8 wire, or do I need to use double pole 40. I dont want to use the 75 amp due to the #4 wire I would have to use, and I dont want to use 8 slots in my box for the 4 double pole 40s. What do I do?

Thanks,

DannoW

DannoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 10:59 PM   #2
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by DannoW View Post
I dont want to use the 75 amp due to the #4 wire I would have to use, and I dont want to use 8 slots in my box for the 4 double pole 40s. What do I do?
Pick one, those are your choices.

Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 11:01 PM   #3
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


what does the owners manule say? By what you describe I take it that this is an ondemand water heater? If so from what I read on here in other threads that you need at least a 200 amp service for those. But back to your question I think it would need double pole breakers.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 11:14 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


What model number of this tankless waterheater is ??

and are you in USA or Canada ? there is two diffrent codes on this one.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:03 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by DannoW View Post
What do I do?

Thanks,

DannoW
Get rid of that #$%&* tankless electric water heater!


Don't dealers of these things go over this stuff before hand to let folks know what a hassle it can be???
Oh yeah, duh, they might not make the sale that way.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:13 AM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


the theory of these things is great.

that is where things end from what I see. The power requirements, either electrical or gas, often require such major work, the installation costs a fortune. On top of that, it seems they are not all they are cracked up to be. Too many folks either not setting then correctly, not understaning their limitations, or not buying a large enough unit.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 08:36 AM   #7
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
not buying a large enough unit.
I think that this is the biggest problem.

I considered installing a natural gas unit. No picnic!
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 09:20 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single pole vs. double pole circuits


Somehow what.,, the Gaz fired units seems better than electric unit due the BTU rating and yeah of course you will hit the snag with gas system you will probly a good chance need to upgrade the pipeing system and Of course the gaz metering device it will have up upsized anyway.

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Separate Single Pole Switches for Ceiling Fan Light and Fan Only estatehomes Electrical 19 01-13-2012 06:13 PM
40 amp double pole gfci problem rivers Electrical 38 07-19-2008 12:10 PM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM
Slimline Vs. Tandem Vs. Double Pole turd hurder Electrical 1 06-23-2008 03:00 AM
Three way light switches and double pole breaker ShawnColes Electrical 6 04-15-2008 08:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.