Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 06:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


I have a white and a black in the box and am trying to hook up a single pole switch with pilot light. I've tried a few combinations but either just the switch works or just the pilot light works. How do I wire it so the pilot light comes on when the switch is on?

tsc2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 07:04 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


Sounds like you have a switch loop in the box, you will need to get the neutral from the circuit down in the box for the pilot light to work.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
tsc2011 (11-28-2011)
Old 11-28-2011, 07:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 115
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


am I correct to say the pilot light would not work if just a switch loop? there is still no neutral
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 10:35 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


Lights always need a neutral to work.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


wouldn't it work if the pilot was wired in series with the switch?
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:09 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


the switch is breaking the hot to the load the light is hot also but you need to land a neutral
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:31 AM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,989
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyT View Post
wouldn't it work if the pilot was wired in series with the switch?
The pilot light is a high resistance compared to the other devices....if you put it in series, good chance nothing lights up.

As noted above....you need a neutral.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:26 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,927
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyT View Post
wouldn't it work if the pilot was wired in series with the switch?
No.

(Almost always) the pilot light will go on with the switch but the light or fan or whatever you are using the switch for will not.

The night light feature of a switch connects the little switch light in parallel with the switch (and that combo is in series with the fan or light or whatever being switch controlled). With the switch turned off, (usually) enough current flows through the night light to light that up but not run the fan, etc.

Some switches with lights inside can be wired up either as pilot light or night light. For the pilot light mode a neutral is needed in the switch box.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-29-2011 at 08:18 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 07:50 AM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,440
Default

single pole switch with pilot light


There is a big difference bewteen a lighted switch and switch with a pilot light. The lighted switch has the light, usually neon, in parallel with the switch. It lights by running a trickle current through the load when off. This is why CFL lamps will flicker on lighted switch.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 11-29-2011 at 07:57 AM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-wire dual pole switch to single pole bujaman Electrical 3 05-31-2011 06:09 AM
2 way dimmer & 3 way switch paulegan25 Electrical 14 11-22-2010 12:37 PM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
Need Help Troubleshooting 3-way + Single Pole Switch Install OmegaRed1723 Electrical 6 10-09-2009 10:25 PM
single pole switch for jacuzzi tub kodeblue Electrical 6 09-19-2009 11:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.