Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2010, 02:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


Hi... I am trying to install a ge single-pole timer which has 3 wires. Hot, Neutral, and Load. My problem is my switch only has 2 wires... What exactly do I do with the load wire? Thank you for any info


Last edited by sillyrope; 12-17-2010 at 06:41 PM. Reason: correct outlet to switch
sillyrope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 02:51 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,510
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


Timers typically replace switches, not outlets.

What wires are in the box and is this a switch or a receptacle?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 02:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


it's a switch which was powering a circular cfl but I decided to replace it with a regular cfl and change the switch to a timer.

Inside the switch is 4 wires. 1 white 1black on top and 1 white 1 black on bottom.
A pigtail has been covering a black/white. so I have one black and white.
The timer has 3 wires. The load wire being red.

Last edited by sillyrope; 12-17-2010 at 03:18 PM. Reason: more detail
sillyrope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 04:38 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,740
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyrope View Post
it's a switch which was powering a circular cfl but I decided to replace it with a regular cfl and change the switch to a timer.

Inside the switch is 4 wires. 1 white 1black on top and 1 white 1 black on bottom.
A pigtail has been covering a black/white. so I have one black and white.
The timer has 3 wires. The load wire being red.
This sounds like a 4 way switch.
Can this light be operated from more than one location?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 04:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 295
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
This sounds like a 4 way switch.
Can this light be operated from more than one location?
I thought it sounded like a single pole with two romex cables in the junction box (which oughta be faily straightforward if that's the case). How many terminals are on the original switch? I think the terms "switch" and "junction/outlet box" have been used interchangeably.
clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 06:31 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


this switch only lights up the hallway light as far as I know. I'll post some pictures when I try again as I went back to the old switch. I called jasco but it may seem the house may be too old, built before 1970 to have a load wire.
sillyrope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 09:45 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyrope View Post
this switch only lights up the hallway light as far as I know. I'll post some pictures when I try again as I went back to the old switch. I called jasco but it may seem the house may be too old, built before 1970 to have a load wire.
How many screw terminals are on the switch 2, 3,or 4?
What is connected to each screw?
Now, just so you understand what you are hooking up:
The time needs power to operate - I'm not talking about turning on the lite, I'm talking about power to actually run. This means the timer needs a hot and a neutral. To turn on the light, the timer will connect the hot to the load and send power to the light. The light has to have a neutral connection too.
We need to better understand the old switch wiring so a picture would be nice.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 12:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 91
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


You probably don't have a neutral ran to the switch. It's not uncommon to find power ran to the light, down to the switch & back up, with no neutral being necessary...

The timer needs a neutral in order to complete the circuit to power itself. You'll need a way to shoot a neutral to it.

Can you fish a wire through the wall from a basement or crawlspace?

Last edited by Nick DIY; 12-18-2010 at 12:10 PM.
Nick DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 12:10 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,454
Default

Single Pole - Load wire?


You have a switch loop. There is no neutral wire even though there is a white wire. You must find a timer that dos not use a neutral wire and is OK for CFLs.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
load wire


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole Breaker VS. Quad Breaker Livewire78 Electrical 37 11-28-2012 08:26 AM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Single Pole Light Switch with 4 Wires dmwiecz Electrical 6 11-22-2010 06:41 PM
single pole switch for jacuzzi tub kodeblue Electrical 6 09-19-2009 11:48 AM
Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch. adrien2 Electrical 6 05-28-2009 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.