Single Phase Subpaneling From 3 Phase Main Panel. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

single phase subpaneling from 3 phase main panel.

I'm looking to build a living quarter section on my shop. Shop is supplied with 200 amp 3 phase service. There is plenty of room in the main panel. All of the appliences in the apt. will be gas so I'm only looking for receptacles, ceiling fans, lights and a washer. Can I just run 50 amps or so from 2 phases of the main panel to a subpanel and then wired the apt. like a standard single phase? I understand I will need to make sure I'm not using the high leg of the system. How can I make sure I keep the phases balanced? Thanks so much for your time


Last edited by shame; 09-17-2012 at 09:53 PM.
shame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:26 PM   #2
Master Electrician
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500

Are you sure you have a high leg service or is it true three phase?
If its a high leg service then yes you would just use the 120/240 part of the panel to feed your sub.


Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.

Last edited by andrew79; 09-17-2012 at 10:28 PM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:48 PM   #3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

No I guess I'm not sure. What's the best way to check? Phase to ground?
shame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:31 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

Normally the wild leg if you have delta system they will be marked in orange colour.

On the breaker panel the wild leg lugs will be every third spot when you go down the panel you will tell the differnce on non wild leg and wild leg part.

If you have voltmeter and read line to ground or netural the normal phase to ground is typically 120 volts while wild leg to ground even netural it will useally read 208 volts so if you have any 120 volts load try to advoid this one otherwise you will make magic smoke pretty fast.

The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:05 AM   #5
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 3,764

Take the two non-high legs and the neutral and a ground to the subpanel. Measure voltage from hot to neutral (aka phase to neutral). Do the wiring in the same manner as you would wire up a subpanel to a single phase 120/240 volt panel.

For a symmetric (120/208 volt wye) 3 phase system you can use any two hot legs.

Make an educated guess for balancing the various subpanel branch circuits (subbranch circuits if you insist) between the two legs coming into the subpanel. It does not have to be exact. It is not necessary to think about it or turn on something else on the other leg each time you turn on tools or televisions or washing machines to be sure the load is balanced.

Be sure the zoning is correct and you get the proper electrical and plumbing and occupancy permits for an additional dwelling unit (above your shop) on your property.
States can help recovery from hurricanes and tornadoes by not requiring due digence or prompt and timely correction of substandard conditions, and by providing continued liability insurance where companies drop homeowners.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-18-2012 at 07:15 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:09 PM   #6
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,674
Rewards Points: 8

Why set a sub panel? Just pull the needed circuits from the main panel. The living area is located under the same roof.


J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
Grounding main panel Arky217 Electrical 5 03-08-2012 06:10 AM
main to sub panel conduit/wire run daddyrabbit Electrical 7 02-12-2010 07:12 PM
Sub Panel install eagertolearn Electrical 17 01-23-2010 05:39 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1