Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2009, 10:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

single gang with 5 wires


I will have wire for the following.

-power feed
-vanity light
-shower light
-exhaust fan
-power to outlet

but the problem is i have a single gang with only 4 inserts. should i just double up to a double gange even tho i wont be using the right side?

fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 10:59 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


Can I ask why you are trying to squeeze all of that into one single gang box? Traditionally you would have power to the outlet, and then switch the vanity light and exhaust fan and shower light.

mccabegc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 11:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


Why not string the power from Switch -> Vanity -> Shower -> Fan (or whatever order would work best)? Add the outlet to whichever light/fan is closest. If you want to run everything from the one box, get a two gang with a one gang mud ring.
Mthrboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mthrboard View Post
Why not string the power from Switch -> Vanity -> Shower -> Fan (or whatever order would work best)? Add the outlet to whichever light/fan is closest. If you want to run everything from the one box, get a two gang with a one gang mud ring.
How would he do that?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:43 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by fabian View Post
I will have wire for the following.

-power feed
-vanity light
-shower light
-exhaust fan
-power to outlet

but the problem is i have a single gang with only 4 inserts. should i just double up to a double gange even tho i wont be using the right side?
Can you just use a three gang with three separate switches? I"m assuming you want to control all of these independently?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:24 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Can you just use a three gang with three separate switches? I"m assuming you want to control all of these independently?
THIS is the correct answer.

Why in the world would you use a single gang box for this???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 08:57 AM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


I am with Petey on this one, spend the extra money and put in a 3 gang box.

If for some reason you want all this on 1 switch you can buy a 4x4 box(deep or shallow someone can tell you, the Canadian rules may be different then the US) then buy a 1/2" plaster ring for the box and you will have lots of room for your wires.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 01:19 PM   #8
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
THIS is the correct answer.

Why in the world would you use a single gang box for this???
How do you know that is the correct answer when you don't know exactly what the OP is trying to accomplish?

Maybe he wants to turn it all on at once, why would you want a 3 gang box for that? Like Mthrboard said, maybe he just needs to daisy chain his lights and fan together rather than bringing seperate feeds for each out of one box.

Bottom line, I think he needs to explain himself a little more so we can understand what he's trying to achieve before you assume you know what the correct answer is for him.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 01:54 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


please give a diagram of what you have and what you want in the bathroom. Where the existing power feed is and so on

If its a gutted room, I guarantee there will be an easier way
II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:34 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
How do you know that is the correct answer when you don't know exactly what the OP is trying to accomplish?

Maybe he wants to turn it all on at once, why would you want a 3 gang box for that?
Because:

A) I am omniscient.
&
B) There is NO WAY he'd want to turn all that on at the same time.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:38 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,549
Rewards Points: 22
Default

single gang with 5 wires


10 #14 + all the ground wires alone is 21 ci. No 2x3 device box can hold that many. Never mind adding a switch or receptacle.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

single gang with 5 wires


If you want to do something really smart, put your ex fan on a seperate 2/5/10/15 minute timer switch. You don't want it on every time you turn on the light and often you want to leave it on for a few minutes.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Help with single pole switch ballutster Electrical 2 10-13-2008 07:57 PM
Single Gang Box used as a Junction? Winchester Electrical 9 09-02-2008 05:33 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.