Single To Double Gang Remodel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2010, 03:23 PM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 335
Rewards Points: 278

single to double gang remodel

Can you swap out a single gang remodel switch box to a double remodel one easily? I assume you just unclip the box and cut it wider?


DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 04:28 PM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000

Yes, as long as there isn't an obstruction in the wall
Usually it's fairly easy
Take out the old box, verify room to cut a bigger hole
Cut the hole & install new box


Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 05:08 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

Yes and No depending on which type of box and the way the cables run into the box most percentage it useally not a major issue however most box useally have two nails expect the steel box that kinda toss up depending on the type of junction box.

To remove the single gang box to two gang box .,

Before you start that make a note of wireing connections first this is very important part otherwise it will be a headache to get it hook up right again after you change the junction box.

Once you mark them down what they are for and how it hook up.

then take a old screwdriver or prybar and pry it to one side most case it will pop off then twist the box it will come out.

To install the new box normally I get what we call Smart Junciton box { not all big box store may stock this } otherwise a old work junction box will work in this useage.

This is a link so it may give you some idea how we use for old work boxes

But not all big box store will stock this item otherwise electrical supply centre will have this.

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:33 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,235
Rewards Points: 624

After making sure I have room for the larger box I cut the hole and then remove the old box. This allows better access to the nails holding the box in place and more room to work in.

Like French, I like the old work boxes that can be screwed into the stud for a nice secure mount.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 08:12 AM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
Increase to double gang boxes... jamiedolan Electrical 20 10-17-2008 12:21 PM
Double gang outlet box TaazKareem Electrical 3 09-29-2008 10:00 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1