Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2013, 06:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


I know this isn't a product recommendation forum, but maybe we can look at this as a "does this product exist" question?

I am hooking up a transfer panel for a Generac XP8000E. I am using the 30A 240 v outlet, an outdoor power inlet box, and a 30A switched neutral transfer panel.

The generator is rated 33.3A/41A Max. I was thinking that, in order to maximize the power I can get during any motor startup situations, that I can use one of the 120V 15A plugs, and wire in a separate switch for the furnace blower.

My problem is that I can't find a single circuit transfer switch that switches the neutral. Does this exist, or will I need to make my own?

Advertisement

kaalapurushha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 07:37 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


If the furnace circuit is already transferred to the generator then you all you need is an on off switch for the furnace to control when it starts.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


The 15 amp receptacle on your generator is connected internally to one of the two windings your 30 amp receptacle uses.

There is nothing to be gained. You won't have any more capacity.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AandPDan For This Useful Post:
brric (12-29-2013), stickboy1375 (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 09:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by AandPDan View Post
The 15 amp receptacle on your generator is connected internally to one of the two windings your 30 amp receptacle uses.

There is nothing to be gained. You won't have any more capacity.
Then how can the generator have a max ampacity greater than any one of its outlets? Are there any outlets which are truly independent?

I thought that for a 30A 240V transfer panel, you can get 30*240 = 7200 Watts. The generator is rated 8KW and can surge to 10KW for 30 minute intervals. There has to be more capacity in one of the outlets.
kaalapurushha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 09:43 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Sure, you can pull 4000 watts off of each leg but it still uses the same windings. You still need to balance the loads on both 120 volt legs.

The outlets are for convenience, that's all. Look at the 8kw label as a marketing tool. It should have had a 50 amp 120/240 volt receptacle if it was designed to function at 8kw continuously.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 10:33 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 89
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


EZ Generator switch. There are videos in the link, showing installation.

EZ Generator Switch | Manual Transfer Switch


patmurphey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 10:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by patmurphey View Post
EZ Generator switch. There are videos in the link, showing installation.

EZ Generator Switch | Manual Transfer Switch


Seems sketchy. Does it have a center off? I would think that a center off is required for it to be to code.
kaalapurushha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 11:48 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 89
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


It's UL listed and switches both the hot and neutral in a 120volt 15amp circuit. No center off is necessary - you are either on utility or generator, never both. I doubt that it could be listed if both are connected during the throw.

As others have said, I wonder why you really need this separate connection.
patmurphey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 02:39 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by kaalapurushha View Post
I thought that for a 30A 240V transfer panel, you can get 30*240 = 7200 Watts. The generator is rated 8KW and can surge to 10KW for 30 minute intervals. There has to be more capacity in one of the outlets.
It's called marketing scam....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
AandPDan (12-30-2013)
Old 12-31-2013, 06:31 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


here is the best set up most flexibility for manual transfers .. its a kit ...
Attached Images
 
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 07:11 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by patmurphey View Post
It's UL listed
Where does it say that?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 07:31 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by kaalapurushha View Post
Then how can the generator have a max ampacity greater than any one of its outlets? Are there any outlets which are truly independent?

I thought that for a 30A 240V transfer panel, you can get 30*240 = 7200 Watts. The generator is rated 8KW and can surge to 10KW for 30 minute intervals. There has to be more capacity in one of the outlets.

correct @ 240 volts 7200 watts ///

OR


120 x 30 = 3600 watts x 2 = 7200 watts ///
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 09:29 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 89
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Where does it say that?
UL is stamped on the front of the box. Look at the lower center of the picture. It is also stated on their web-site.
patmurphey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:49 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by patmurphey
UL is stamped on the front of the box. Look at the lower center of the picture. It is also stated on their web-site.
That UL stamp is for the cover, not the assembly. I looked on their website looking for a listing and couldn't find it. If you have a specific location for me to look, please point it out.

Just because the parts of the assembly are all UL listed doesn't make the assembly UL listed.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 12:07 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 89
Default

Single Circuit Switched Neutral Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
That UL stamp is for the cover, not the assembly. I looked on their website looking for a listing and couldn't find it. If you have a specific location for me to look, please point it out.

Just because the parts of the assembly are all UL listed doesn't make the assembly UL listed.
If you're so concerned, use the "contact us" on the web-site and ask. Earlier versions did not have the stamp. Anyway, I thought I saw it. I don't work for them. UL on the cover of any electrical device is not an indication that it is listed?

Advertisement

patmurphey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neutral on a dead circuit teamo Electrical 10 12-11-2012 02:10 PM
Wiring to Replace Timer Switch with Single Pole Switch BusterT Electrical 2 10-26-2012 04:39 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
Circuit tester shows open neutral; multi-meter says something different. fredgmeyer Electrical 11 10-26-2009 01:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts