Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 04:42 PM   #1
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Share |
Question

Simple - Wiring 50amp


I need to hookup a 2 pole 50amp breaker. It will power 4 110/120 outlets.

I believe I need 6 gauge wire = 6/3 with ground. One black, red, white and a ground.

I connect the black and red wires to each pole on the breaker.
I don't have a ground bar, just neutral bars in the main panel so the white and ground will go on the neutral bars in the main panel.

I'm not sure how to connect the red and black hot wires to the outlets...

Do i just put 2 outlets on the black and 2 on the red?

Please let me know if I need to clarify anything.

Thanks!
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:01 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Most 120 Volt circuits are limited to 15 or 20 Amps, when terminated in receptacle outlets. What is your proposed use of these circuits?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:05 PM   #3
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


I'm only going to run ~10amps on each outlet. I have limited space in the main panel, so this is why I'm going with the one 50amp instead of 4 20amps.

I understand how to hook up the breaker with the 6/3 with ground wire...

On the other end with the 4 outlets is where I'm not sure...
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:08 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,469
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Code does not allow this.
You need a sub panel or 4 20 amp circuits!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:18 PM   #5
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Hmmm, for some reason, I had thought I didn't have room. I do have room for 4 breakers. Awesome - I'll just go do that, thanks! lol
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:48 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,671
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by erb View Post
Hmmm, for some reason, I had thought I didn't have room. I do have room for 4 breakers. Awesome - I'll just go do that, thanks! lol
I hope this is not a patronizing post and you are really going to do that.

Please listen to the others when they say you CANNOT have 15 or 20 amp receptacles on a 50A circuit. This is no joke.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:22 PM   #7
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


As a rule of thumb, no outlet or wire should be capable of delivering more then it's rated for. You can't just hook up 4 outlets to a single 50 amp circuit even though you wont be pulling more then 15 amps per outlet. If something that is plugged in shorts out, it needs to be able to trip the breaker BEFORE it causes damage to the wiring, or the outlet itself.

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 10-07-2010 at 06:48 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:43 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,129
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by erb View Post
I'm only going to run ~10amps on each outlet. I have limited space in the main panel, so this is why I'm going with the one 50amp instead of 4 20amps.

I understand how to hook up the breaker with the 6/3 with ground wire...

On the other end with the 4 outlets is where I'm not sure...
Please call an electrician and get this done right for the safety of you, your family, and future owners of your house.

If you think this is alright to do I would hate to see what else you have done to your electrical system in your house.

Your best option is to take that 6/3 to a subpanel and then run your 14/2 or 12/2 from there for the plugs.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:49 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,129
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
If something that is plugged in shorts out, it needs to be able to trip the breaker BEFORE it causes damage to the wiring, or the outlet itself.
Even if you hooked this up to a 100A breaker and something shorted the breaker would still trip, the rateing of the breaker has nothing to do with short circuit condition. You will see a rateing on the breaker for interupting current(10000 amps is a common number) that would be for short circuits. The rateing of the breaker is for overloads thus protecting your wire.

His setup would work fine(not safely) until he started pulling more then 15A on one of the wires then he would have a safety issue.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:02 AM   #10
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


My first idea was obviously stupid. Thank you all for the quick posts! Individual 20amp circuits is the way to go and my concerns have been addressed
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:25 AM   #11
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by erb View Post
My first idea was obviously stupid. Thank you all for the quick posts! Individual 20amp circuits is the way to go and my concerns have been addressed

I am not trying to be offensive at all, just looking out for your safety - but I agree with Darren. If you even considered using a 50A circuit to power 5 standard outlets, you really don't have the knowledge to be working in your electrical panel. Call an electrician.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 11:27 AM   #12
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I am not trying to be offensive at all, just looking out for your safety - but I agree with Darren. If you even considered using a 50A circuit to power 5 standard outlets, you really don't have the knowledge to be working in your electrical panel. Call an electrician.
You are correct (except for the fact that is was 4 outlets lol)!

Although, believe it or not, I know how to wire the 20amp circuits to the outlet and use the correct hardware up to code.
No worries.
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 12:00 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by erb View Post
You are correct (except for the fact that is was 4 outlets lol)!

Although, believe it or not, I know how to wire the 20amp circuits to the outlet and use the correct hardware up to code.
No worries.

You know that every outlet does not need it's own breaker, right?

You can connect more than one outlet on a circuit.
moondawg is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to moondawg For This Useful Post:
Gigs (10-08-2010)
Old 10-08-2010, 12:59 PM   #14
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Even if you hooked this up to a 100A breaker and something shorted the breaker would still trip, the rateing of the breaker has nothing to do with short circuit condition. You will see a rateing on the breaker for interupting current(10000 amps is a common number) that would be for short circuits. The rateing of the breaker is for overloads thus protecting your wire.

His setup would work fine(not safely) until he started pulling more then 15A on one of the wires then he would have a safety issue.
Hence why i said before it caused damage to wires. If it did short out it would trip before it hits the point where it can melt. well to some extent anyway. Shorts are usually bad no matter what. But yeah you want an overload to trip the breaker before it overloads the wiring/outlets etc.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 01:36 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Default

Simple - Wiring 50amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Hence why i said before it caused damage to wires. If it did short out it would trip before it hits the point where it can melt. well to some extent anyway. Shorts are usually bad no matter what. But yeah you want an overload to trip the breaker before it overloads the wiring/outlets etc.
I propose that he never would have gotten that far. We'd have another post saying: "The wire I have is WAY too big for the little holes on the backs of these outlets. I can't even use the side screws. HALP!"
moondawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Simple wiring diagram donttouch HVAC 1 05-29-2010 04:43 AM
Simple wiring problem (I hope) Burt1664 Electrical 7 12-19-2009 06:49 AM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
50amp GFI Trips on Commercial Truck djeffwhite Electrical 1 03-10-2008 01:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.