Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2012, 08:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Share |
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Looking to install light switches that control a fixture for each stall in a horse barn I'm looking to wire.
Each stall will have its own separate switch that controls a single fixture over the stall.

Does anyone have a simple diagram or instructions on how to run one circuit for 4 of the stalls ---- This is a new horse barn, so I can run power from the panel to either the fixture or the switch at the beginning of the circuit (which is better?).

I'd like to know the correct switches to buy, wiring, and how to run power from one switch to the next through conduit---or to each fixture.

Seems like it might be easier to run power fixture to fixture and then drop down to each switch to control each fixture????
Please advise.
Thanks again!

hagler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:52 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


The wiring could be done either way with the power to the switches first ot power to the fixtures and a switch loop. Depends on which is easier.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:03 AM   #3
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:07 AM   #4
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 221
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


What code cycle are you on?
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:34 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


With this being a horse barn I would expect a conduit system to protect the wiring. This would alleviate the need for a neutral at the switch locations.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:33 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Everything will be in conduit.
Why can I eliminate the neutral at the switches?
If I do eliminate it, what kind of wire to run from the fixture to the switch?
hagler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:39 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


IronLight - in your diagram is the red a traveler and blue the hot?
Is this 3-wire running from switch to switch?
If so, is this where you would just eliminate the neutral - just pull it out of the jacket to eliminate or wire nut it?

Also, do you have a diagram for the same configuration, but power coming into the switch first?

Thank you.
hagler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:58 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


The red is the constant hot. The blue is the switched hot.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:23 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Quote:
Originally Posted by hagler View Post

Also, do you have a diagram for the same configuration, but power coming into the switch first?

Thank you.
try this:
Attached Thumbnails
Simple Question on Light Switch Series-new-bitmap-image-3-.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Sorry if I'm not seeing it in the diagram...but am I eliminating the neutral at the switch?
The blue switched hot is the neutral with black tape on it to signify that is hot?

And, am I running 3-wire romex from switch to switch/fixture....except the first switch where I can run 2-wire out of the switch because of the main (constant hot) coming into it?

Sorry if I'm asking simple questions....thanks for the time.
hagler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:45 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


In conduit you run individual conductors, not cables. The neutral could stay at the lights.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


It is more straightfoward to run the power to the first switch then run additional 2 conductor cable (or 2 conductors in conduit) from switch to switch.

Then add one 2 conductor cable from each switch up to its corresponding light.

For each cable or wire pair up to the light, connect its black wire to the switch. Connect a short (six inch) black wire (pigtail) to the other black wires (if more than one) and connect the free end to the other switch terminal. This last step is needed because you may not put two wire ends under one screw unless there are ridges to keep the wires from slipping out without being wrapped around and just before the screw is tightened.

Connect all the white wires together. Connect all the ground wires (bare or green) together but not to the white wires.

This is depicted in one diagram above. No black pigtail is needed at the last switch because there is only one end that needs to go under each screw.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-20-2012 at 07:37 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:51 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
This is depicted in one diagram above. No black pigtail is needed at the last switch because there is only one end that needs to go under each screw.
Correct...I got carried away when adding the yellow paint as wire-nuts
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Quote:
Originally Posted by hagler View Post
And, am I running 3-wire romex from switch to switch/fixture....except the first switch where I can run 2-wire out of the switch because of the main (constant hot) coming into it?

If you did all the runs in romex(cable)

In my diagram above at Switch #1 there would be 3 cables at the switch box:
1. is incoming line power
2. is outgoing load power and neutral to the light
3. is the continuation of the incoming power which goes to Switch #2 & #3

At Switch #2 there would also be 3 cables:
1. is the continuation of cable #3 at Switch #1, this supplies power to Switch #2 & #3
2. is outgoing load power and neutral to the light
3. is the continuation of the incoming power which goes to Switch #3

At Switch #3 there are only 2 cables:
1. is the continuation of cable #3 at Switch #2, this supplies power to Switch #3
2. is outgoing load power and neutral to the light


If you do the runs in conduit you would use individual conductors.
Attached Thumbnails
Simple Question on Light Switch Series-new-bitmap-image-3-.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-19-2012 at 02:09 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:23 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Default

Simple Question on Light Switch Series


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
In conduit you run individual conductors, not cables. The neutral could stay at the lights.
So do I just buy individual spools of wire for each gauge & color needed? Then estimate lengths needed to pull through the conduit for each wire/conductor?

hagler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two switch ceiling fan/ light question ifthenelsenull Electrical 4 12-29-2011 03:23 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
new light and switch problem please help rebelbull Electrical 1 10-02-2009 06:39 AM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 12:09 AM
A simple 2 light --1 switch question? redondo11@msn.com Electrical 7 11-05-2008 08:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.