Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2012, 05:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Simple grounding question


This is a stupid question probably but i'd rather ask than assume... On recepticals there is only one screw for the ground wire. Do i need to wire nut the two ground wires together then run a pigtail to the receptical or can i just wire one to the receptical and then twist the other ground around that one

fgunternahrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,247
Default

Simple grounding question


Pig tail it, only one wire under each screw.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Simple grounding question


why do they only put one ground screw on the recept it would be so much simpler if they would put two screws on like they do for the power and common
fgunternahrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:40 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,069
Default

Simple grounding question


Not a stupid question....but a common one here.

Do a search on Pig Tails......Basically, you create a pig tail between the in box wiring and your outlet....hence, you end up with just one wire to the outlet.....makes life easier...
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 08:35 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Simple grounding question


You must use a pigtail, AND a listed pressure-type connector, such as a wire-nut or crimp sleeve.

You should NOT simply twist the wires together, without a proper connector.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:35 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Simple grounding question


yeah thats kinda what i thought the answer would be i was just hoping other wise
fgunternahrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 103
Default

Simple grounding question


Quote:
Originally Posted by fgunternahrer View Post
yeah thats kinda what i thought the answer would be i was just hoping other wise
Lol, yeah, doing it the right way might add .03 cents in cost and 1 minute of extra work
patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:43 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,947
Default

Simple grounding question


Quote:
Originally Posted by fgunternahrer View Post
why do they only put one ground screw on the recept it would be so much simpler if they would put two screws on like they do for the power and common
Code violation for one, they actually used to make devices with two ground screws, but if you were to remove a device, you would lose your safety protection down stream of the circuit... so it only makes sense to not allow a device to sustain this protection.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
zappa (09-04-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding question Raym50 Electrical 38 08-05-2012 10:30 AM
Grounding question tmbleweed Electrical 11 01-12-2011 10:27 PM
grounding question Skippymartinez Electrical 1 11-30-2009 07:19 AM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 08:25 AM
Question on Grounding ayudi General DIY Discussions 2 12-11-2006 04:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.