Simple Circuit Question For A Novice - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 03:27 PM   #1
Likes to Build Stuff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Simple circuit question for a novice


I've done some wiring, but nothing too technical -- here's what I am after. I have tied into a wall outlet to power two lights by switch and another wall plug with a switch. This project is a built-in set of 2 study carrels for my kids.

So, the question is, can I run to everything (all 3 switches) somehow with one wire? I am using 12 guage (black, white, and ground) wire. Or, do I need to run off of the jump out of the wall plug 3 seperate wires to each light switch?

See, simple, huh? I'm just an accountant and try to do the best I can and remain safe -- but I don't want to use too much cable if I don't have to.

Thanks for your kind responses to a novice!

Advertisement

mwfooshecpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:34 PM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Simple circuit question for a novice


Welcome to the best DIY'r forum on the net.

I am confused with your explanation, you mention 2 switches, then 3 switches, where is all this wiring running? in the walls?

What is study carrels? some kind of desk?

Perhaps a picture, or a sketch drawing would be helpful

Mark

Advertisement

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:41 PM   #3
Likes to Build Stuff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Simple circuit question for a novice


Thank you for your reply! I don't have a sketch, but let me try and do a better job explaining.

Study carrels - two seperate study spaces (like walled-off desk areas) in a study.

My power source is one wall plug which I have tied into.

From that, I have a hard-wired light controlled by a switch, another hard-wired light controlled by a switch - both mounted to the two opposite sides of the seperator wall -- and one other wall plug which is to be controlled by a switch.

Can you do it with one pathway, or do I need to run 3 wires to each of the 3 things?

Thanks!
mwfooshecpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:54 PM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Simple circuit question for a novice


Where will the switches for the lights be mounted, not that it makes a difference. and is the switched plug already mounted? or is the plug being mounted out of the wall?

Well to answer your question yes it can be done from (1) power source, with (1) main wire with circuits parrallel to it.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done

Last edited by Jackofall1; 01-31-2011 at 04:01 PM.
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Wire Circuit Question BPC Electrical 24 04-22-2010 05:29 PM
Dryer circuit 4-wire question firemanpato Electrical 11 03-05-2010 06:44 PM
Wet Bar Circuit question Straightgrain Electrical 8 12-31-2009 09:11 AM
Yet another 3 way circuit question! sirkeen Electrical 4 07-28-2009 12:54 PM
Simple wall framing question.. jogr Building & Construction 7 10-28-2008 11:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts