Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2009, 11:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

siemens sub panel breaker box


i cannot figure how to wire the neutral and the ground wires in this box as there is only a neutral bar and not a grounding bar also as the main box has. there is also an option for abonding strap.please help,thanks,ron

ronbeany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 6
Default

siemens sub panel breaker box


I know on a main panel you can have neutral and ground wires in the same bus bar (not in the same hole for neutrals though) Not sure if the same applies to sub panels or not.

zedman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 12:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Default

siemens sub panel breaker box


U dont use the bond strap on a sub fed panel .And your neturals and grounds have to be seprated . u need to get a ground bar
cdundon4va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 04:55 PM   #4
Electrical Inspector
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3
Default

siemens sub panel breaker box


To separate the neutrals and grounds in a siemans panel remove the jumper between neutral and gronding bars.If this is a newer panel it would apear to be a copper wire in the upper part of the panel (below the main breaker if installed).In older style panels this would be a bar spaning the bars in the bottom of the panel.

Last edited by Power Up; 11-21-2009 at 05:39 PM.
Power Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 10:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

siemens sub panel breaker box


Search "sub panels" above and you will get all the required information you need. Promise.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I legaly change out my breaker panel? Red Squirrel Electrical 6 08-24-2009 09:07 PM
Hot water flate rate conversion to breaker panel curlycord Electrical 1 05-06-2009 07:24 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 1 01-28-2004 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.