Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 11:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding


Hello,

I am wiring a new home in Vermont and I have the load center wired and installed. It is the main disconnect. I need to bond the ground and neutral and I am wondering how this is done in the panel. I didn't notice an easy way when I looked at the panel, nor do I know if the panel comes bonded or not. Any suggestions? It's a Siemens 200A load center with built-in 60A transfer switch.

Is it as easy as wiring the neutral/ground bars to the panel with a screw and section of stranded wire?

J

Advertisement

aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding


From the following Siemens link...

"Pre-positioned bond screw makes bonding a snap."
http://w3.usa.siemens.com/powerdistr...adcenters.aspx

Did you read all the instructions which came with the load center, read the various labels pasted on the panel, etc.?

Do any of those mention a "bond screw"?

(When all else fails, read the instructions!)

Advertisement

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding


Actually, the panel is OEM by Siemens, but it's marketed by gentran. It came ONLY with the gentran instructions for wiring the 60A generator feed, and for operating the transfer function. It had NO documentation on the panel itself.

I will take a closer look when I am up there this weekend working I guess.

It appears that it may not be as hard as I think. I am really wondering if it comes pre-bonded or not.
aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding


I think I found it. Did some digging on their site and appears that if my panel is like the rest of their panels, There is an easy way.

Thanks for the help!
aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:21 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding


Most panels do not come prebonded, but have a green bond screw in a package somewhere.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
jrclen (10-24-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main load center grounding question. sgip2000 Electrical 18 10-03-2012 12:45 PM
Boxing In My Load Center? ddawg16 Building & Construction 5 08-22-2012 11:21 PM
Looking for "Wrongs" in my Siemens load center Minus08 Electrical 31 01-11-2012 11:47 PM
Flush mount an outdoor load center? wmldwilly Electrical 1 04-29-2009 08:17 PM
Load center vs. bottom fed Panel Board. Ugh. wmldwilly Electrical 8 04-23-2009 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts