Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 02:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Specing out my breaker costs for adding the following to my existing service.
1 X 2pole 30 amp for a heater
2 X 1pole 20 amp for new receptacles and bathroom
2 X 1pole 15 amp for lighting and saniflo pump
1 X 2pole 15 amp for bathroom heater
Am I correct in assuming this load center takes QP breakers (cover panel with specs on it is illegible from hack builder electrical work)
Also,since it is new service,but no new bedrooms,do I have to use AFCI breakers?
Any useful inputs will be greatly appreciated
P.S. I have lots of room for any size breakers I may need (size matters!)


Last edited by spring3100; 05-12-2013 at 06:33 AM.
spring3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 03:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


QP breakers are correct.

Depending upon where you live and what code cycle you're on you may need an AFCI breaker for the lighting and receptacles. They're not just for bedrooms anymore.

AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AandPDan For This Useful Post:
spring3100 (05-11-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 06:18 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by spring3100 View Post
Specing out my breaker costs for adding the following to my existing service.
1 X 2pole 30 amp for a heater
2 X 1pole 20 amp for new receptacles and bathroom
2 X 1pole 15 amp for lighting and saniflo pump
1 X 2pole 15 amp for bathroom heater
Am I correct in assuming this load center takes QP breakers (cover panel with specs on it is illegble form hack builder electrical work)
Also,since it is new service,but no new bedrooms,do I have to use AFCI breakers?
Any useful inputs will be greatly appreciated
P.S. I have lots of room for any size breakers I may need (size matters!)
ususally if you run new circuits you need to put in ACFI breakers ..at least here the is the line in the sand.. and it depends also on what code cycle your area is on ?
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
spring3100 (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 07:17 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,844
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


If you run new circuits, and those circuits require AFCI protection that that is your answer.

See what code cycles your area is under, but these days most are to a point where they are required. Remember, most, but not all, areas/circuits do require AFCI protection.

This is from the 2008 NEC:

Quote:
(B) Dwelling Units. All 120-volt, single phase, 15- and 20-ampere branch circuits supplying outlets installed in dwelling unit family rooms, dining rooms, living rooms, parlors, libraries, dens, bedrooms, sunrooms, recreation rooms, closets, hallways, or similar rooms or areas shall be protected by a listed arc-fault circuit interrupter, combination-type, installed to provide protection of the branch circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-12-2013), spring3100 (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 07:32 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


You can only put receptacles on the bathroom circuit if those receptacles are in the bathroom, unless the "bathroom" circuit only services lighting outlets.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-12-2013), spring3100 (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 07:44 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You can only put receptacles on the bathroom circuit if those receptacles are in the bathroom, unless the "bathroom" circuit only services lighting outlets.
I have one dedicated 20 amp circuit for the bathroom,if you re-read my post you will see a total of six circuits,but thanks for your input
spring3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spring3100 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 07:49 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
If you run new circuits, and those circuits require AFCI protection that that is your answer.

See what code cycles your area is under, but these days most are to a point where they are required. Remember, most, but not all, areas/circuits do require AFCI protection.

This is from the 2008 NEC:
This quote mentions outlets,but doesn't reference lighting,will I need it on that circuit also?Thanks for your input
spring3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spring3100 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 08:06 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


"Outlets" does not mean what you think it means. When the code states "outlets"....

Quote:
Outlet. A point on the wiring system at which current is
taken to supply utilization equipment.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-12-2013), Speedy Petey (05-12-2013), spring3100 (05-12-2013), stickboy1375 (10-31-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 09:10 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
"Outlets" does not mean what you think it means. When the code states "outlets"....
Thank you,and consider me educated!
spring3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spring3100 For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (10-31-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 09:26 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Just so we all on the same page,I will consider the need for 2 AFCI 20amp single pole breakers for the recepatcle circuit and the dedicated bathroom circuit and 2 AFCI 15amp single pole breakers for the Lighting circuit and the dedicated receptacle for the Saniflo pump.
The 15amp two pole 240V for the bathroom heater and the 30amp two pole 240v for the area heater doesn't need anything special,does it?
Thanks once again for all of your awesome inputs!!!
spring3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:28 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


I also have the Siemens G4040MB1200
Attached Thumbnails
Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center-100_4920.jpg   Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center-after-front.jpg   Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center-full-view-cover-off-2.jpg   Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center-top-panel.jpg   Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center-bottom-panel.jpg  

Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Minus08 For This Useful Post:
spring3100 (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 09:41 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Heres a good decoding guide for model numbers for Siemens load centers
Attached Thumbnails
Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center-after-side.jpg  
Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:10 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by spring3100 View Post
This quote mentions outlets,but doesn't reference lighting,will I need it on that circuit also?Thanks for your input
an outlet can be a receptacle, light or even a smoke detector.

The NEC defines an Outlet as: A point on the wiring system at which current is taken to supply utilization equipment.
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usair For This Useful Post:
spring3100 (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 10:29 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by spring3100 View Post
Just so we all on the same page,I will consider the need for 2 AFCI 20amp single pole breakers for the recepatcle circuit and the dedicated bathroom circuit and 2 AFCI 15amp single pole breakers for the Lighting circuit and the dedicated receptacle for the Saniflo pump.
The 15amp two pole 240V for the bathroom heater and the 30amp two pole 240v for the area heater doesn't need anything special,does it?
Thanks once again for all of your awesome inputs!!!
240 volt circuits don't require AFCI protection - yet.
A dedicated bathroom circuit only needs GFCI protection, not AFCI.
The Saniflo pump recommends being on a GFCI protected circuit.

Basically, only your receptacle circuit and the lighting circuits likely need AFCI protection.

Check with your AHJ.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AandPDan For This Useful Post:
spring3100 (05-12-2013)
Old 10-31-2013, 03:03 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Siemens G4040MB 1200 Load Center


Update to this post,Electrical inspector visited in August,said he would be satified with AFCI's on Lighting and Receptacle circuits,and considered the GFCI for bathroom and Saniflo pumps to be sufficient protection.
240 Volt heating circuits did not need AFCI or GFCI.
Thanks once again for everyones input.

spring3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main load center grounding question. sgip2000 Electrical 18 10-03-2012 11:45 AM
Boxing In My Load Center? ddawg16 Building & Construction 5 08-22-2012 10:21 PM
50 amp 220 over 8/3 with ground to 40 amp double breaker feeding into load center? mgambino Electrical 45 06-05-2012 06:11 AM
Looking for "Wrongs" in my Siemens load center Minus08 Electrical 31 01-11-2012 10:47 PM
Expanding load center capacity in barn mn1247 Electrical 8 09-13-2011 08:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.