Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2008, 05:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Talking

side by side light swithes not working


In my kitchen I have two switches next to each other, one is for the light out side the other is for the light over the sink. We had reset outlets in the kitchen and one went bad so we changed all the reset outlets to regular outlets. Now the switches are on the same wall, and after we changed the outlets the switches stopped working.
We looked at the wiring and the black wires are connected to the switches, the white wires are all connected together and it has a wire cap on it, then there is a small white wire that connects to each switch. There are three sets of wires coming in from the wall. All my outlets are working and the light switch for the kitchen light is working fine.
Just wondering if anyone knows what I can do to try and fix this.
THANKS YOU

katkell2645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 05:04 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,843
Default

side by side light swithes not working


First. Rip out those regular recepticles. And put the CODE REQUIRE GFCI(the reset ones) receps back in.

Maybe the light bulb burnt out.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:22 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

side by side light swithes not working


As beenthere said, get those regular outlets out, and put in the GFCI’s. Replace the bad one with another one. These aren’t there to annoy people, they’re there for the protection of people.
The problem with the power at the switches could have been caused when the outlets were changed…a loose wire, a wire hooked up wrong, etc. It sounds like of the 3 cables entering the switch box, one will be the incoming power, with it’s black wire connected to each switch (probably via the white jumper wire you mentioned, and if so, should have been a color other than white or green). The black of the other 2 cables would go to the lights they control, and also hooked to the switches. The white wires, in this case, would be connected together, just like you mentioned.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 08:19 PM
Light switches not working marc633 Electrical 7 07-22-2008 05:34 PM
Halogen motion sensor light stopped working, Incandescent still works keyser soze Electrical 6 05-29-2007 08:53 PM
Light Stopped Working gershon Electrical 5 01-10-2007 08:03 PM
Light switch not working! jtbel Electrical 4 12-09-2006 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.