Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2008, 02:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Hello.

I have built a custom router table and I want a receptacle and switch mounted onto the table so I can plug my router into the receptacle and use the on/off switch to turn the router on or off. I want to provide power to the table by plugging in my heavy duty extension cord into the bottom or the receptacle.

Questions:
How do I bring the power from the extension cord through the bottom receptacle and make the switch on/off to release the power to the top receptacle to start the router?

I have seen custom router tables that have this but not sure on the wiring for it.

Matt

mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


The switch should be rated for "a motor load" or an "inductive load", but it's hard to find this kind of info. I'm not sure a regular wall switch can withstand switching a motor load for very long.
And if you switch off the motor while it is stalled it will shorten the life of any switch.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:57 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,832
Rewards Points: 2,458
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Use a switch receptacle combo device.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 03:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


If I use a switch/outlet combo how do I get the power to the table with an extension cord pluged in? This is a portable table so it can't be permanently mounted with 12/2 wire ect.
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 02:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Mount a switch box to the table. Install a short piece of SO cable with a male plug on the end. Install a duplex receptacle and metal cover. Plug in the ext cord when needed and use the switch on the router to turn it off and on.

I have a custom built router table too. I just use an extension cord to plug the router into.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 03:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Here is a good tutorial for wiring plugs to a bench. Instead of wiring directly to the plug with the cord, get a 2 gang box and put the switch in before the receptical.

http://www.hammerzone.com/archives/e...h/outlets.html
jimmyfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 03:32 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,040
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


You can purchase professional disconnect switches that do what you want for about the same as you can build one. Simply use google images and ask for router table switch. Example...this one has a plug in the back for your router and a power cord for the house electrical supply. Or you can simply use what Joed mentioned very easy and cheap. Only difference is the professional ones have lockout safety features to prevent accidentally turning the router on.

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 05:52 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,832
Rewards Points: 2,458
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Install an inlet and wire it to the switch.

http://www.levitonproducts.com/catal...del_5278-C.htm

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:44 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
You can purchase professional disconnect switches that do what you want for about the same as you can build one. Simply use google images and ask for router table switch. Example...this one has a plug in the back for your router and a power cord for the house electrical supply. Or you can simply use what Joed mentioned very easy and cheap. Only difference is the professional ones have lockout safety features to prevent accidentally turning the router on.

I hope the OP is willing to disassemble the router and understands how the router switch is designed and connected if he goes this route. All he needs is a receptacle or ext cord.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 11:38 AM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,040
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Why would he have to disassemble the router? And what would he be doing with the switch shown other than plugging his router into the back of it and plugging the switch power cord into the bottom receptacle ? Yes... the router has a on/off switch why would he be messing with it?

My understanding is he has a duplex receptacle at the bottom of his table at the floor level and his router plugged into that along with an extension cord for house power to the receptacle. Isn't all he wants to do is eliminate reaching under the table to turn the router on/off?

Maybe I'm missing something

This is what he will end up with...switch is different but same thing.....



Last edited by Stubbie; 11-08-2008 at 11:44 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 11:54 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
I hope the OP is willing to disassemble the router and understands how the router switch is designed and connected if he goes this route. All he needs is a receptacle or ext cord.
Why would he need to disassemble the router? All he needs to do is plug the cord from the router into the receptacle on the back of the router switch.
Matsukaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 12:25 PM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,040
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Quote:
Why would he need to disassemble the router? All he needs to do is plug the cord from the router into the receptacle on the back of the router switch
I'm not sure either...I've installed many of these over the years for different customers table power tools. Personally a handy box with receptacle and switch would work but for a nice custom table it would imo be less than desirable.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:59 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Why would he have to disassemble the router? And what would he be doing with the switch shown other than plugging his router into the back of it and plugging the switch power cord into the bottom receptacle ? Yes... the router has a on/off switch why would he be messing with it?

My understanding is he has a duplex receptacle at the bottom of his table at the floor level and his router plugged into that along with an extension cord for house power to the receptacle. Isn't all he wants to do is eliminate reaching under the table to turn the router on/off?

Maybe I'm missing something

This is what he will end up with...switch is different but same thing.....


This is exactly what I want thanks.
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:13 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I'm not sure either...I've installed many of these over the years for different customers table power tools. Personally a handy box with receptacle and switch would work but for a nice custom table it would imo be less than desirable.
Yes, you are correct. As long as he just plugs the router into a receptacle that would be fine. A switched receptacle. I thought your advice was to wire the router cable into the switch you pictured.

Ps....Would having 2 switches available to the operator be an issue? The one on the router and the one installed in the handy box? I think you can see where I am going.

Last edited by J. V.; 11-13-2008 at 11:16 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:50 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Shutoff switch for custom Router Table.


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Yes, you are correct. As long as he just plugs the router into a receptacle that would be fine. A switched receptacle. I thought your advice was to wire the router cable into the switch you pictured.

Ps....Would having 2 switches available to the operator be an issue? The one on the router and the one installed in the handy box? I think you can see where I am going.
In every router table setup I have seen, there is a safety switch on the fron that has a single 15amp outlet on the back (either directly on the back of the switch, or a short cord). The router plugs into this outlet, you leave the switch on the router in the "on" position and use only the switch on the front of the table.

So having "two" switches shouldn't even be a problem at all. Leave the switch on the router on and forget about it. This way makes it fairly easy to still be able to remove the router from the table and use it hand-held. The cord isn't chopped off so its not hardwired into the table.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.