Should Use 60amp Or 100amp Sub-panel? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-14-2009, 11:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Should use 60amp or 100amp sub-panel?

I have a couple questions, so please bear w/ me!

I'm helping a friend run a sub-panel to a two sided detached garage in his new home...I have some electrical background so of course I have to help him! The garages are about 110-120' away from the main panel. One side of the garage he'll work on his cars and will need power for an air compressor, basic hand tools, lights, and receptacles. The other side he'll be turning into a game room/ bar...so power for refrigerator, lights, fans, heat/window AC, and receptacles.

I think a 60 amp feed will be fine, but he's thinking 100 amp for future additions (he doesn't have much room to add anything). Plus when we went to Depot to price things, all the 60amp sub's only had 2-4 slots. I wasn't sure if I could run 60a to a 100a sub...but after reading some posts I'm pretty confident. First question: do you think 60a is enough for what I described? If so, how exactly do I back feed a panel? Is it necessary?

The main problem I'm running into is getting the feeder from the main out of the house. It is a very old house and I only have a couple options...I think. The first is to drill a hole near the panel through the stone wall (about 2-3' thick) and directly under a 4ft sidewalk (right next to the house), which would start the trench to the garage. This looks like a huge PITA, and I really dont want to have to pipe this!!