Should I Need To Replace The Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2012, 12:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: S.California
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


Microwave and gas stove starter are on the same 15AM breaker. Lately, while we're using the microwave, the breaker goes out/tripped. Happens few times a day. I have to reset the breaker.

Should I need to replace the breaker?

Advertisement

hpdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:33 PM   #2
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


what is the wattage rating on the microwave? (it might be listed as 1.xxx kw)

Advertisement

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: S.California
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
what is the wattage rating on the microwave? (it might be listed as 1.xxx kw)
I am at work do I asked my wife and she said read the out put is 1100W. I don't know if it's right number rating.

This is the microwave built-in over the kitchen.
hpdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 853
Rewards Points: 726
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


If you plug micro into another outlet via extension cord ( use a beefy cord at
Least 14 AWG) does it trip that branch circuit?
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 10:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: S.California
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
If you plug micro into another outlet via extension cord ( use a beefy cord at
Least 14 AWG) does it trip that branch circuit?
Used 12 AWG to plug into another outlet and it was fine in the last few days.
hpdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 10:37 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


When breakers trip repeatedly then tend to weaken. If the microwave works OK used on another circuit without tripping the breaker then the breaker itself may be the issue. Are you competent enough to change out a breaker? (No insult intended, but there are scores of dead folks who said "sure, I can do that") If not, get someone who is both knowledgeable and capable.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:16 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


my vote goes for the weak breaker as well. The microwave draw 9.5ish amps and a ingiter usually only runs around 3.5amps. Even if they're both on they're still well under what the circuit can hold. Either your breaker is bad or you have a high resistance short somewhere are the two things that jump to mind first.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:05 AM   #8
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Should I need to replace the breaker?


Do you have access to an Amprobe and are you capable of using it safely? If so, take a measurement to see what the current draw is. Then go from there.

Advertisement

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Checking a Breaker Klawman Electrical 11 02-18-2010 08:48 PM
Do I need to replace my circuit breaker box? greenlantern Electrical 7 08-12-2008 12:27 AM
Replace a service panel circuit breaker knockout? michigan_homeowner_2008 Electrical 6 05-22-2008 05:01 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 04:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts