Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2010, 10:40 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Share |
Default

Short Wires in an Overfill


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
That ground that is coiled around the other grounds... does it go up into the nut or is it just twisted? If it doesn't go in the nut that's technically a violation.
I'm pretty sure that wire goes into the nut. It's not like me to effectively have a loose wire around.

I think what happened was that ground was a loose pigtail, and when I started twisting the nut, it started twisting around the wires that were anchored in the NM cable held firmly in place by the cable holder thingys. After wards, the free end was was then placed in the 2nd nut. I'm aslo pretty sure that that pigtail links the ground for the 20amp circuit to the ground for the 15amp circuit.

HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 10:45 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

Short Wires in an Overfill


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
btw: blue wire nuts
Blue wire nuts for what. A quick search indicates that blue wire nuts are for "Accepts 2 #22 to 3 #16 AWG"... I don't have anything smaller in the box than #12 AWG. Each red nut holds only 3 wires.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 11:07 PM   #33
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Short Wires in an Overfill


Quote:
Originally Posted by HooKooDooKu View Post
Blue wire nuts for what. A quick search indicates that blue wire nuts are for "Accepts 2 #22 to 3 #16 AWG"... I don't have anything smaller in the box than #12 AWG. Each red nut holds only 3 wires.
nah, not those blue wire nuts. these wire nuts:


http://images.google.com/imgres?imgu...US354%26um%3D1
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 11:47 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

Short Wires in an Overfill


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
nah, not those blue wire nuts. these wire nuts
That makes better sense.

But what's wrong with the red ones, they are rated for the wiring I have... or are we talking about replacing the two green nuts with one blue one?
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:18 AM   #35
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Short Wires in an Overfill


just for where you did not have room in the one wire nut to put all the egc's in one nut. I hate doing what you did. It looks like you didn't have the right material for the job.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 12 06-10-2014 12:52 AM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM
Short Wires sensen Electrical 3 04-01-2005 12:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.