Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 03:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Share |
Default

Short Wires


I NEED TO UPDATE MY ELECTRICAL PANEL. I FIND THAT SOME OF MY NEUTRAL AND GROUND AND HOT WIRES ARE A BIT SHORT OF REACHING THE GROUNDING BAR AND FOR THE BREAKERS. HOW DO I EXTEND THESE WIRES? CAN I ADD PIG TAILS TO EACH WIRE, USING WIRE NUTS?

Thanks in advance for any help or reply

POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:28 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,200
Default

Short Wires


You can pigtail in the panel using wire nuts, however an alternative strategy that may be better is to add a junction box outside the panel with perhaps an outlet, and run a new cable into the panel from there.

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:50 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,084
Default

Short Wires


Just splice them in the panel... simple and effective.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:03 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,027
Default

Short Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Just splice them in the panel... simple and effective.
If you are in the USA.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:05 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,084
Default

Short Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
If you are in the USA.
Well, dont leave me hanging... embrace my quest for knowledge and spill the beans already.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 05:24 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Short Wires


In Canada the CEC does not allow splices in a panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
rjniles (08-11-2012), stickboy1375 (08-11-2012)
Old 08-11-2012, 05:26 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,084
Default

Short Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
In Canada the CEC does not allow splices in a panel.
Sucks to be them.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-12-2012)
Old 08-11-2012, 05:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Short Wires


Thanks every one for your help and replies.
POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 07:29 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,233
Default

Short Wires


And thank you for finding the caps lock key.....

Good luck
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (08-14-2012), Missouri Bound (08-11-2012), Speedy Petey (08-12-2012)
Old 08-11-2012, 09:21 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Default

Short Wires


If you are replacing the panel look into Cutler Hammer. They have a new panel intended for replacements. It has a ground/neutral bar at the top of the panel.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:33 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Short Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
If you are replacing the panel look into Cutler Hammer. They have a new panel intended for replacements. It has a ground/neutral bar at the top of the panel.

Electures.,

IIRC they are called Renovation panels and some of them only have 5 blocks that you can able tie the conductor in ( I used 2 of them and they are ok to me ) and some models the tub width is narrower than standard tub what we are used to it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:30 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Short Wires


Pretty sure we're allowed panel spliced. Not on feeders though with some exceptions. I know at one point you were only allowed two in a tub but from what I recall as long as box fill rules are applied its alright.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Short Wires


Thanks every one for your help and replies

POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 12 06-10-2014 12:52 AM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM
Short Wires sensen Electrical 3 04-01-2005 12:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.