Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2010, 09:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 100
Share |
Default

Short Stupid Question


120 vac needs a ground to work, how do some 240 vac application work without it? I always wonder about that.

Livewire78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 10:42 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Short Stupid Question


120V does not need a groung to work. It does need a neutral. 240 does not need a ground either nor does it need a neutral. A good look at electrical theory on wikipedia would help ya.

Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 10:54 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,793
Default

Short Stupid Question


the reason some 240v appliances need a neutral to operate is they actually split into 2 120v circuits to run motors and timers stuff like that
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 11:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 100
Default

Short Stupid Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
the reason some 240v appliances need a neutral to operate is they actually split into 2 120v circuits to run motors and timers stuff like that
I meant to say neutral a minute ago, what I was asking is how some 240vac electric motors don't require a neutral to operate.
Livewire78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 11:08 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,793
Default

Short Stupid Question


theyre strictly 240v the 2 legs balance eachother out basically,120v needs a path back to complete the circuit
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 11:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 100
Default

Short Stupid Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
theyre strictly 240v the 2 legs balance eachother out basically,120v needs a path back to complete the circuit
Gotcha! Thanks!

Livewire78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
maybe stupid question: marker for concrete amakarevic Building & Construction 2 06-30-2008 04:17 PM
I used PEX.. have a question cgerikh Plumbing 5 05-15-2008 03:45 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 05:48 PM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 09:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.