Shop Lighting - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2009, 09:17 PM   #16
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Shop lighting


I usually go with tons of CCFLs when I want lot of light. My crawlspace only had 2 incad lights when I bought my house. Now it has 6 CCFLs. HUGE difference.

I also saw something neat at Canadian Tire, it screws into a light socket and turns one socket into two. Easy way to double the lighting without any changes to the electrical. CCFLs use less power so no need to be guilty about overdoing it.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 09:54 PM   #17
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shop lighting


Speaking of wattage on flourscent luminaire the same thing with HID I always go with ballast listing because the bulb is constant wattage but the ballast itself it will change a bit depending on which type of ballast you get involded and ballast factor AKA brightness level

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:04 PM   #18
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shop lighting


Centium ballasts are also available in 120V and 277V models, and feature a total harmonic distortion below 10% operating F96T8/HO lamps. Centium ballasts can operate one or two F48, F60, F72, or F96T8/HO lamps. Other features of the Centium include programmed starting of the fluorescent lamps to extend lamp life and a consistent light output, no matter which lamp length is operated. Also, according to the manufacturer, the Centium's high-frequency operation (above 40,000Hz) reduces the possibility of interference with infrared remote control systems. Advance Transformer Company Rosemont, IL

My thoughts, I would install as Scuba_Dave mentioned, 3 rows, 3 fixtures/row (totalling 9) with a three gang switch to controll each row seperately or if looking to install with single switch application, go with the 277V fixture as described above, and only needing one (220V) circuit.

What ever you choose, do some research on the fixture, especially the ballast, most of what HD and Lowes sell, the ballast that come in the fixtures are typically the lower grade ballast, ever wonder why it cost as much to by a replacement as it does the entire fixture?

Last edited by fltdek; 11-01-2009 at 10:08 PM.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:28 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shop lighting


What about FM reception?
I was on a Garage (workshop) website & a guy installed 3 rows of 8' T-8's(2 sets of 4' T-8's for 8' total ) 2 fixtures in each row.

He said that it basically killed FM reception
I do have an antenna I may toss in the attic
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:32 PM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shop lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
What about FM reception?
I was on a Garage (workshop) website & a guy installed 3 rows of 8' T-8's(2 sets of 4' T-8's for 8' total ) 2 fixtures in each row.

He said that it basically killed FM reception
I do have an antenna I may toss in the attic

Yeah basically it do kill it but with antenna it will recover it as long you keep couple feet away from the garage ceiling or trusses

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:53 PM   #21
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shop lighting


Scuba_Dave...


Nice Home Improv pics! They were posted back in Feb? Any new ones?
Your neighbors must be envious!


Enjoy
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:30 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shop lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by fltdek View Post
Scuba_Dave...

Nice Home Improv pics! They were posted back in Feb? Any new ones?
Your neighbors must be envious!

Enjoy
Thanks - all the recent pics are updated on the thread
Since the roof was more or less finished in the summer not too much has changed
Biggest change was siding the back of the house
Bay window was the latest project

I'm working on inside stuff now, layout of electric, odds & ends

The neighbors just think I'm crazy
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:32 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Pittsburgh)
Posts: 442
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Shop lighting


Check this thread... Lighting in my garage? It might give you some good ideas.

My greatest "wished I woulda" was not controlling the lights on my shop on two or three separate switches.

Rege
RegeSullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 09:53 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shop lighting


Yes - switches are a great way to control the lighting
Our kitchen has 5 different switches for lights
2 are for the recessed overhead lights - 1 as you enter the room
1 is for undercounter lights
1 is for LED lights
Last one is for peninsula lighting
Lets us adjust the lights as needed

I'll do the garage & great room the same way
At the back of the garage I'll have 4 T-8 fixtures - 2 on each switch
Then some recessed cans for general lighting & added light
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 05:54 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shop lighting


A 30 x 30 shop is 900 sq. ft.
Each 4' 2 tube fluorescent troffer puts out 6000 lumens.
For 1500 lux average lighting and 11 lux = 1 lumen/ft² you'd need 140 lumens per sq. ft. = 125000 lumens = 21 troffers.
For 500 lux, 7 troffers.

If you peek into a lighting handbook at Border's or Barnes & Noble's and they give you different numbers then use their numbers.

http://apps1.eere.energy.gov/buildin...mark_01-09.pdf
Will that be
Cosine Distribution – Lensed
or
Batwing Distribution – Parabolic
???

Last edited by Yoyizit; 11-06-2009 at 06:18 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 06:36 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Shop lighting


Two 32w 4' tubes in a decorative troffer will give 600 lux on the 2'x4' surface 5' directly below it, and it drops down to half that value at the edge of a 7'x7' area below the fixture.

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical , lighting


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shop lighting dulmer Electrical 8 12-08-2008 05:29 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio (cross-posted in electrical) 1655graff Remodeling 1 11-21-2007 01:45 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio 1655graff Electrical 5 11-21-2007 09:06 AM
Shop Power & Lighting schoondogg Electrical 1 10-09-2005 02:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts