Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2013, 11:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Shop electrical wiring


Hi all,

New member here, posting for the first time! I’m planning to add a 60amp sub panel in my basement (hobby) woodworking shop. The run from the main panel is about 68’, plan to use #6awg red, black & white and a #10awg green ground in ” emt. So far so good? In the shop I’m planning 3 220v circuits with #10awg & 3 110v circuits with #12awg, all in emt. The question is about running ground wire in the branch circuits. From reading many posts it looks like green ground wire isn’t required in the shop branch circuits, but I’m considering doing so for added safety. What size ground should I use?

Thanks for any help & suggestions!

dpakiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 11:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

Shop electrical wiring


technically, the emt can function as the equipment grounding conductor but this means every coupling, every box connection, etc. needs to be installed correctly so as to carry fault current. all it takes is one loose screw and the grounding becomes compromised. if it was me, i would pull a grounding conductor in each conduit run. you don't necessarily need one for each circuit, just each run (if each circuit has its own conduit run, then it is academic). for conduits with the #10 conductors, pull a #10 ground. for conduits with the #12, pull a #12.

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
dpakiz (09-25-2013)
Old 09-25-2013, 11:59 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

Shop electrical wiring


A single ground conductor is permitted in a a conduit with multiple circuits. The ground must be sized to the largest circuit in the conduit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 09-25-2013 at 12:01 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
dpakiz (09-25-2013), Philly Master (09-25-2013)
Old 09-25-2013, 12:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 30
Default

Shop electrical wiring


Always run a ground wire. Especially for equipment. You many not need a Neutral wire for the 240V plugs, but a ground should be ran...as you said, for safety. So if anything faults to ground, there is a dedicated fault path for the current to take and ensure it goes to the ground rod, not into another circuit or through you. Use a full size ground on each circuit. For example, if you will be running 120v, 14ga wire for a single phase plug, use 14/3 wire.
statum1012 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to statum1012 For This Useful Post:
dpakiz (09-25-2013)
Old 09-25-2013, 12:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Shop electrical wiring


Thanks all for the quick replies, resolved that question! Got another question though, is it to code and prudent to run 2 #10 hots for 220v plus a #12 hot, #12 neutral for a 110v circuit and a #10 ground in a single 1/2" emt? Runs are 30' or less. I can use existing 1/2" emt & make life a little easier.
dpakiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 12:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

Shop electrical wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by dpakiz View Post
Thanks all for the quick replies, resolved that question! Got another question though, is it to code and prudent to run 2 #10 hots for 220v plus a #12 hot, #12 neutral for a 110v circuit and a #10 ground in a single 1/2" emt? Runs are 30' or less. I can use existing 1/2" emt & make life a little easier.
no conduit fill issue with the 1/2" emt
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 03:27 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Shop electrical wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by statum1012 View Post
Always run a ground wire. Especially for equipment. You many not need a Neutral wire for the 240V plugs, but a ground should be ran...as you said, for safety. So if anything faults to ground, there is a dedicated fault path for the current to take and ensure it goes to the ground rod, not into another circuit or through you. Use a full size ground on each circuit. For example, if you will be running 120v, 14ga wire for a single phase plug, use 14/3 wire.
Oh so many misconceptions

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
darren (09-25-2013), HouseHelper (09-25-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone wire along side of electrical wiring DiegoJames Electrical 7 07-10-2012 05:21 PM
Phone wire along side of electrical wiring DiegoJames Electrical 3 07-10-2012 09:23 AM
Shop wiring questions. Newbomb Electrical 8 05-28-2012 10:25 AM
Old Electrical Wiring Izabel Electrical 6 05-21-2012 02:42 PM
Checking Electrical Panel Wiring Edteen Electrical 1 03-30-2012 03:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.