Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2012, 08:42 PM   #31
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Share |
Default

shocking range


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Time will tell. And I don't have a lot of it left.
That sounds personal, and possibly medical, I feel for you- back is giving out on me and knees are shot. getting old sucks.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:48 PM   #32
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

shocking range


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Time will tell. And, thank God or some other Supreme Being, I don't have a lot of it left.

There was a tech at one of the NASA facilities that behaved like this. He hounded the cr@p out of me.
The big boss probably knew that Federal Employees are entitled to a harassment-free workplace but he kept mum and I didn't know enough about employment law at that time.
I was not making a personal attack on you, I only argue code and theory. I harass no one, well maybe a few mods at MH forum, but that is different-I am friends with them.

I hound no one and do not tolerate anyone doing it.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:44 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

shocking range


Anyway, good call on a loose neutral it seems.

When I first got there I just ran my pximity tester over it. It started beeping. Knew something was wrong. These things can give you pretty good hint if something is live. No, Idon't really trust them with my life, but if they sound off, I feel pretty certain something is live. If it does not sound off, I most likely will check with a multimeter or another volt meter with prongs.

The rec it self was old and the neutral clamp/receiver seemed a little lose to me. It was also covered with crud when I removed the cover as it was upside down on the wall and the cover was busted on one side. I had been meaning to get up there and change the cover. In the meantime, someone () had wrapped duct tape around it for a temp fix.

This was also the circuit I had to extend when the storm pulled the meter off outside and when I changed the old panel for a newer one with more space in it. I had to install a 4" makeup box a little less than a foot above the newer panel and splice wires using split bolt clamps with the nut the screws down to clamp the wires. On the grnd splice, I had 1 stranded and 2 solids with one attached to the metal box. This splice was lose.

Lying here thinking about it, I think I need to go back in a day or two and see why I have a solid in the box as a ground.

I'm so screwy right now, I may have extended a second circuit with the smaller wire.

Like I said, it was inspected by the city inspector. The same one that came by as I was starting to replace the meter.

Anyway, I'll be back up there to put a screw in the cover of the power block on the stove and will double check things.

I told my daughter I thought I had it fixed, buit to tell her hubby thathe might want to turn it on and off with his hand turned backward in case it got him again. Told her if he turned it on like he normally did, it might make him grip it and he would not be able to turn lose. With his hand backward, he would not grip it and would have a better chance of getting lose.

Heheh, her response? "Are you kiddingme? Is this like forever?"


Thanks for the info, I am sure it saved me some time.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:48 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

shocking range


Actually, I need to see how this thing is grounded to the case. I was expecting to see a ground strap on the neutral connection. It has been a long time, but I doubt this one ever had a strap like I am thinking of.

I might make a different post on that subject.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:57 PM   #35
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,450
Default

shocking range


Quote:
Originally Posted by boman47k View Post
On the grnd splice, I had 1 stranded and 2 solids with one attached to the metal box. This splice was lose.

Lying here thinking about it, I think I need to go back in a day or two and see why I have a solid in the box as a ground.
Ummm... if this is an old 3-wire circuit, it doesn't have a grounding conductor. The frame of the range is bonded to the neutral, but you can't use the neutral to bond other stuff on the circuit. It's not a ground. It needs to be insulated all the way back to the panel's neutral bar. Otherwise you risk electrifying even more metal.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:14 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

shocking range


Tis is the old 3 wire with 2 insulated wires and one bare stranded wire wrapped arond them. I have seen this kind of wire on many ranges/stoves, I think, and the bare stranded was always used as a neutral all the way back to the panel.

I will say it makes me nervous to think of this bare wire being against something metal if something does go wrong. When I put the cover back on the 4" makeup box, I am pretty sure the neutral was touchinhg the cover.

I am about to talk myself into getting about 20' of new wire and go 4 all the way,

I wll go back and take another look at things. I'm thinking the inspector should have caught something if it was wrong. Then again, from what I hear, these guys are not always the sharpest tool in the box.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:45 PM   #37
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,450
Default

shocking range


Quote:
Originally Posted by boman47k View Post
I am about to talk myself into getting about 20' of new wire and go 4 all the way
That's a darn good idea.

Quote:
I wll go back and take another look at things. I'm thinking the inspector should have caught something if it was wrong. Then again, from what I hear, these guys are not always the sharpest tool in the box.
Inspectors definitely do not catch every problem. They can often miss serious problems.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood opening is bigger than range hood jacks16 HVAC 2 06-23-2011 06:19 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
Drop in range versus self standing for narrow area sbrink Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 6 01-21-2011 10:17 AM
Moving Electric Range Plug dmartins Electrical 3 11-23-2010 07:48 AM
Had a new electric range installed in my apartment - does this sound right? SAABturboDRIVR Electrical 15 01-02-2010 05:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.