Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2010, 11:56 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Share |
Default

Shed Wiring


I'd like to be able to use a 230V welder at my shed and would like some advise.
The existing power to my shed was run as follows: Main Service Panel is 125 amps, 40 amp breaker feeds a 8 circuit sub panel next to main panel, 15 amp 2 pole breaker brings 240 v to shed through buried Teck90 cable with 3 conductor 8 gauge wire. Into junction box , 1 leg feeds two outlets, the other leg powers two light fixtures. So only 120 volt circuits are currently being used.

The welder I want to use requires either a 25 amp time delay breaker or fuse or 30 amp standard fuse (manual doesn't mention using a 30 amp breaker only fuse)

So to make this work could I change the sub panel breaker size to 40 amp and install a new sub panel in the shed with two 15 amp single pole breakers for the outlets and lights, and a 25 amp time delay dual pole breaker(if available) for the welder? Or would I be better to go from the new subpanel to a 25 amp fused disconnect box?

RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Shed Wiring


What is the distance to the shed ?
Not familiar w/Teck 90 cable

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,926
Default

Shed Wiring


The circuits already in the shed must be protected by 15 amp breakers for 14 gauge wires and at most 20 amp breakers for lights and receptacles. So if the feed to the shed is the 8 gauge cable, then you must install a subpanel or sub-subpanel there to go with a 40 amp breaker back at the main panel or first subpanel.

I would go as you described and with the 25 amp breaker set in the new subpanel.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-15-2010 at 01:05 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Shed Wiring


Search "Sub Panels" at the top of this page and you can read about your application for weeks.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Shed Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
What is the distance to the shed ?
Not familiar w/Teck 90 cable
Length of cable running to shed is 30 feet.

Must be a canadian thing:

Application:
Teck 90 cables are used in the pulp and paper, mining, petroleum, and chemical industries, as well as, in commercial and industrial building applications. They may be used under the following conditions:

  • In ventilated, non-ventilated, or ladder-type cable trays in dry or wet location
  • exposed or concealed wiring in dry or wet locations
  • on walls or beams
  • directly buried
  • CEC Class 1 Div 1&2 Group A,B,C,D
  • -40C (-40F) dry or wet environments
Cable running to the outlets and lights are 14 gauge wires so yes, the plan would be to connect these to the new sub panel with either two 15 or one 20 amp breaker and a 25 amp for the welder.
Is a 40 amp breaker feeding this new subpanel sound right?
Attached Images
 
RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 02:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,926
Default

Shed Wiring


A 40 amp breaker is the maximum for 8 gauge wires.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
RalphPeters (05-15-2010)
Old 05-15-2010, 04:15 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Shed Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
A 40 amp breaker is the maximum for 8 gauge wires.
40 amps is only the maximum ampacity for # 8 conductors in NM cable. Other applications and conductor types allow up to 55 amps.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a detached shed for AC power *and* generator backhaul wrooster Electrical 19 05-28-2010 11:59 AM
wiring electrical in a shed patrick29 Electrical 11 08-22-2009 03:46 PM
Wiring a Shed and Garage abedj Electrical 1 05-08-2009 11:09 AM
Help with wiring in shed sandyman720 Electrical 1 06-25-2008 11:11 AM
Shed Wiring bcdal Electrical 12 03-26-2008 04:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.